Strawberry Freezer Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2015
Made this recipe exactly as instructed and it came out perfectly. The biggest tip is to make sure you let the sugar and strawberries sit together for 10 minutes before pouring in the pectin/water. I picked a LOT of strawberries this year and I was able to safely double this recipe with great results. Excellent recipe and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulliver, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Too sweet for preserves, but great to use as an ice cream topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I love this recipe. The only thing different was to boil the water & pectin for 1 min. The sure jell recipe says 2 min. I agree about the sugar. Next time I will use the sugar free sure jell & put less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I've made this with peaches but this is my first time with strawberries. Came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Butchko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
So easy and yummy! Made it just like the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I followed another reviewers suggestion that it was too sweet and only used 3 cups of sugar. It was still so sweet you could only taste the sweetness not the strawberries. The fruit separated from the jelly and floated to the top of the jar. I won't waste it, it may do well in a crumble with apples and need less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wembley, Middlesex, England, U.K.
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I'm afraid this had too much sugar for my tastes. I'm a sugar girl, so I can't believe I'm saying that. I really did like the consistency though. For my second attempt, I went with 2 cups mashed strawberries, 2/3 cup sugar and 2 Tbsp Ball brand Realfruit Instant Pectin for each 2 pints (2 - 8oz containers) of freezer jam. I will say that the consistency was more like apple butter, but I'm thinking this will be wonderful in the middle of a Minnesota winter. No cooking or boiling needed. I added 1/3 cup more berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I made this and my jam had a lot of sugar crystals in it. Not sure how what to do with it. Followed the certo recipe as stated. I took out my bottle of freezer jam out and noticed that most of the sugar went to the bottom of the bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This recipe is the same as the box of Sure Jell, except it tells you the quantity of CRUSHED strawberries to use, not whole berries. Handy, since I buy a ton of strawberries of all different shapes and sizes. This jam turns out yummy almost always. A previous review was incorrect about saying the recipe calls for twice as much sugar as the boxed directions. It is the same proportion sice crushing strawberries cuts their measured volume in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I reduced the sugar to 1C and it still jelled. With this smaller amount of sugar the taste of the berries came through much more strongly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thom Foote

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States