Strawberry Freezer Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I reduced the sugar to 1C and it still jelled. With this smaller amount of sugar the taste of the berries came through much more strongly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thom Foote

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I started with 4 cups of mashed berries, cut the sugar in half for my Type-2 diabetic family member. Also used 3/4 cup orange juice in place of half the water. End product tastes great and is plenty sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
After reading tons of reviews on this jam, I have this to add: 1 - If you use RIPE strawberries (no white or green on the berries), then your jam will naturally be extra sweet. If you don't like the extra sweetness, use the pink pectin box and follow the directions for low sugar (4 c. crushed berries with 3 c. sugar). When I used berries that had a little white and green on them, 4 c. sugar was needed. The lady at the strawberry farm told me berries with a little green/white on them actually help jam set up (and I believe her). 2 - I like crushing the berries with a potato masher best. I think the chunkiness adds to making it a jam! (And you can use it for other things like smoothies and over ice cream.) 3 - If your berries seem too runny after crushing, drain off most of the extra liquid before adding the pectin to the berries. This really makes the jam set up and seems to evenly distribute the berries throughout the jam. I like it thicker! 4 - Boiling the pectin/water mixture for 1 minute and then adding to the berries and stirring again for 3 minutes also seems to aid in the jam setting up with no sugary crystals. My jam seems to set up in less than 30 minutes. 5 - Since this is not the cooked method, I recommend letting the jam cool and then immediately refrigerating/freezing. I left a jar out once and forgot to give it to a friend. Two days later, I opened it and it didn't smell bad but had a metallic taste, so taste can be affected. I HOPE THIS HELPS EVERYONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vinton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This recipe has been in my family since the 1960's. My kids and grand kids love it and look forward to me making it every year. It has a lot of sugar, but you just enjoy it in moderation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
WAY too sweet. Will never make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I just made this today and it is so easy to make and so delicious! It did seem like a lot of sugar but the recipe said to follow exactly and I did.....this is my new go to strawberry jelly recipe....by the way, I did double it and it came out perfect....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
WHOA. Wish I had read the critical reviews on the overload of sugar. WAY too much. Ruined a big batch and had to add crushed strawberries and pectin/water to try to fix it. 1/2 of the amount of sugar would be sufficient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jplhammond

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
YUM!! my kids loved the jam and it was so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Very delicious, though admittedly on the sweet side. Much better than your typical store bought in my opinion and super easy make! A 2lb container of strawberries comes out to about 2 cups mashed for anyone's who's curious. I also bought some low sugar pectin to make blueberry freezer jam, using the instructions inside, and it's worth noting that most of the low sugar pectin jams use more the fruit than regulars (in the case of strawberry jam, 4 cups instead of two). It may vary from brand to brand- I was using Certo, but save yourself an extra trip to the store by making sure you have enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States