Strawberry Fields Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 21, April 2012 Great pick this week ladies! My DH and I really enjoyed this salad. I made it as our main course (actually only course) for dinner this week. Thought the blending of these ingredients went really well together. After reading the previous reviews, I only added 1/8 cup of sugar and 2 TB of honey, kept the rest of the dressing ingredients as listed. This was a great balance for us. Since this was the only item I fixed for dinner that night, I added leftover turkey to the salad for added protein. Definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I love this Recipe Group week's selection! I made just 1 serving for myself, so I didn't actually measure the salad ingredients. I did measure the dressing ingredients, though. The dressing is sweet yet tangy and uses ordinary ingredients found in my pantry. Definitely a keeper and something I would proudly serve company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group 4-26-2012 Yum this salad is a refreshing change of pace for me. Followed the recipe as written. I will reduce the amount of sugar a tad the next time I make it. The flavors go so nicely together with the sweet berries and the red onion. Great contrast. I did like the feta. Since there will be a next time I will toss in some nuts for more texture. Great Selection Recipe Group!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Made this one for the recipe group- thought it was delicious! I omitted the feta cheese, and used sweet onion in place of the red. This is also very eye appealing: colorful and beautiful! I didn't care much for the taste of the dressing, but I was overruled because the family liked it so it must just be a personal preference. Thank you very much, newcook89, for the recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geranium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I always put fruit and cheese in my salad, but never thought to add red onion, as well, which was a nice addition (and I added grilled chicken and pecans, too) ... but I really think it is the salad DRESSING that makes this a great salad. As with other reviewers, I did not add all of that sugar to mine either ... MAYBE a teaspoon, if that. But, I did use the full 1/4 cup of honey. My daughter loved it, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Living In: North Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I reduced the recipe in half since only for my husband and I, still added the sugar but only tablespoon and a dash of garlic powder along with the salt and pepper. I think the dressing was very good, I did make it early in the day so it had time to marry. I left out the dried cranberries, husband not a fan, however we did top with some roasted pecans and they were a very nice touch. A very refreshing salad that paired very nicely with the Chipotle Crusted Salmon with Triple Berry Sauce recipe on AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I made this for recipe group and it was pretty good. We didn't care for some of the greens in the mix (that was a surprise) but did enjoy the fruit (another surprise). I left out the sugar in the dressing and used just enough oil to bring the dressing together, maybe 1/2-2/3 the amount. We would eat this as a meal, which we usually do with salads, but only used half the greens since it was with a full meal. Had I used the full amount of greens I would definitely have needed more of everything else except maybe the dressing. I thought the feta got totally lost. So, other than the proportions being off for us I would make it again because the flavor was good and a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group...We thought this was delicious! I followed the dressing recipe exactly, but would def reduce the sugar and honey next time, as it was a tad sweet for me, but hubby loved it as it was. As for the salad ingredients, I just eyeballed everything to taste. I used romaine instead of baby greens b/c that's what I had. I also added the optional feta, which I think is a must! I may do as others next timaand add some toasted nuts for another layer of flavor. NOTE: I did not use all of this dressing on the salad. Will def be making this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
What a nice blend of light and good for you foods. The dressing adds nice flavor. Skipped the feta but perhaps will try it with another time. I added walnuts with the cranberries and I'm so glad I did. It gave just a tad more texture. This will be on my menu again soon. Good pick Recipe Group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This was the Recipe Group selection for 4/21/12. We thoroughly enjoyed this salad. The sweetness of the strawberries and cranberries combined with the sharpness of the red onion and feta was a wonderful contrast in flavors. I used just a smidgeon of sugar (personal preference) in the dressing and loved it. Not only is it tasty, but also very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States