Strawberry Dream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This was a GREAT recipe. Took it to a Father's Day get together and it was a Huge hit! Everyone was wanting to make sure they had some before it was all gone! It did crumble very easily but it was still very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I would have given the cake itself five stars but I did not care for the frosting. Together they made a mediocre cake. I like the idea behind it but the frosting didn't set up right. I kept trying to get the frosting to whip up hard but it wouldn't. It pooled right off the cake. I think next time I will use white chocolate pudding mix in place of the white chocolate squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julius8122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baker City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Wow...I made this recipe exactly as stated. It was so delicious and a great "Special Day" cake. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KM
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
The flavor of this cake and frosting is amazing... But the textures....not so good! I think this would be much easier to make in a 9x13 pan and pour (yes pour) the frosting over the top! Yum!! Anyone who eats the cake will NOT complain....as it is super good...but the frosting is a little frustrating - and would just run off the cake...(even though I refrigerated it overnight before trying to frost after reading other reviews). The frosting really makes an excellent fruit dip!!! I could just eat it with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by suzyqcakes
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This is not a light fluffy cake so if that's what your looking for, don't attempt this cake. I did substitute strawberry cream cheese for the plain kind and it had a great flavor. However, it was very, very dense. So dense it was almost wet but that may have been from my keeping it in the refrigerator overnight. It was more dense than I thought it would be. Pudding like is correct. I only added 3 eggs as the recipe called for and I can only imagine that a 4th might have made it heavier, but, it may actually have lightened it up a bit. I made it for a co-workers birthday and kind of wished I had done a test run as this is the first time I've made this cake. I didn't use the frosting listed but instead frosted ith with a strawberry whipped cream frosting. I liked it but didn't think it was the best I've ever had. I did think it had a good strawberry flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I'm definitely going to use this one for a Special Occasion. It sounds so delicious. Two thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Cooper
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Delicious cake. I used a chocolate cake mix (the recipient wanted a chocolate cake) and it was fabulous. Very beautiful with the white frosting. However, I was transporting the cake, and because the icing did not hold well, the upper half of the cake slid right off. I was quite devastated until everyone clipped the cake in minutes anyway. Will definitely make again. Will have to figure out how to make frosting hold up (because it really is scrumptious frosting).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I don't really care much for strawberry cake, but made this for a baby shower at work. It was awesome! Everyone, including me, loved it! It was even better the next day after sitting in the refrigerator. I did follow the advice of other reviewers and used strawberry cream cheese in the cake. SO yummy! This is definitely going in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
The cake itself it delicious. I did use the strawberry cream cheese as advised by other reviewers. The frosting was not very good at all. I should have used heavy whipping cream instead of cool whip, maybe that would have made it better. I also used the strawberry cream cheese in the frosting, which I did not like at all. I'm serving the cake tomorrow for a birthday celebration at work, and seriously considering scraping the frosting off and starting over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
The cake was a big hit with everyone except me. I thought it was heavy and didn't have the flavor that I thought it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liv_nikole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States