Strawberry Dream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
The texture of this cake is excellent. However, the taste on mine didn't come out right since I used unsweetened strawberries and apparently not enough sugar. You really need the sweetened strawberries-- otherwise they taste like dense, moist muffins. They could use more strawberry flavor, too. Also, I tried to use whipped cream instead of cool whip in the frosting, and it was quite runny. Not sure if that's the substitution or the nature of the frosting, but if it's the latter, maybe it would help to use less of the cream/chocolate/cream cheese mixture relative to the whipped stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
The reason for the 4 star rating is because I didn't like the frosting with this it was too sweet and overpowered the delicious flavor of the cake. The cake itself is a 5 star cake! I used the "Whipped Cream Cream Cheese frosting listed on AR and it was the perfect substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SybilK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Despite the fact that I feel like I'm cheating when I make this because it's not from scratch, it's always a crowd pleaser and comes out good. If you're pressed for time, this is a good cake to make without worry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West New York, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I made this for Easter - everyone loved it. I will be making more to bring to work next week - hopefully it will be just as good! Thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
awesome recipe, I did follow the other reviews and used the strawberry cream cheese. Made it for my cousins birthday after looking through tons of other recipes i decided on this one. She doesn't usually like cakes but she loved this one. I did use fresh strawberries that I pureed with a tablespoon of sugar. The is defined a keeper :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Very good moist cake. I followed the recipe almost exactly...only I used 8 oz of cream cheese in the cake and 8 oz in the frosting. I think this helped thicken the frosting, in which I frosted a little bit at a time. I would frost some and then refridgerate. I also added an extra layer of white cake in the middle....only because I was serving a large group. It turned out beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I made this cake for my daughters b-day party and it got rave rewiews from everyone including the kids. This was so easy. Very moist and very tasty. I think it was better after it sat for a day in the fridge. Super yummy!!!!! Will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I made this cake for my daughter's first birthday party. The entire cake - all four tiers - was eaten by our 20 some guests. I'm not kidding - the whole thing - I didn't even find crumbs on the plates afterwords! p.s. I made some mistakes while making the frosting and found a quick alternative - I mixed store bought frosting with the whipped cream. But I did figure out the mistake after the party and tried the recipe again. The homemade frosting had a more delicate flavor to it. Both versions were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This was awesome! We kept it in the fridge and the frosting was fine. Made sure frosting mixture was completely cooled in fridge before adding whipped topping. Cake tasted so good. Will make again for sure. Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkimw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biddeford, Maine, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States