Strawberry Dream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made cupcakes with this and they came out GREAT everyone loved them, I did make a strawberry cream cheese frosting instead though. Will be making again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This cake is amazing! I didn't use the icing though, I did a cream cheese frosting with strawberry cream cheese- absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
It's hard for me to justify a review of the orginal recipe when I made many of the changes listed on the site but here goes anyway. Cake like listed by others is very moist- almost wet. It also has a ugly purple color, but it does taste good if you don't mind the wet or the texture. I thought it was okay. My husband loved it. I made it as recipe says but used fresh strawberries and a little sugar. Also switched cream cheese for strawberry flavored. If I were to make it again I probably would make a single layer and put the frosting and fresh berries on right before I served it to help with the moisture. I made this as a double layer cake for a birthday. Frosting- I added extra cream cheese and about a third pack of pudding like others recommended to thicken it up. It tasted a bit too much like cream cheese so I also added like a fourth of a cup of powdered sugar. Frosting was good and turned out fine. I added store bought cream cheese frosting in between layers because so many people said the cake would slide otherwise. Also added fresh berries. My husband said it tasted like strawberry shortcake. I personally thought it was just okay and probably wouldn't make it again unless he requested it. Overall, the gist of the other reviews is exactly what I found to be true about the cake. The flavor is good but not overly strawberry (I would have liked more flavor, cake very moist almost wet, color kind of ugly purple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joymichelle
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
delicious!! and beautiful!! i used strawberry cream cheese as suggested and only used the 3 eggs that my cake called for (4 seemed like a lot) the icing was very liquidy so i just put it back in the mixer till peaks began to form to have fluffy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joymichelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vilorac
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
very moist and yummy, the only thing i don't like is the too much flavor of cream cheese, i only made 2/3 of the recipe to get a 6" cake plus 2 cupcakes, but still, the amount of cream cheese is too much for me. i used only fresh strawberries and pureed them and didn't add extra sugar, but the cake is sweet enough, but next time i'll try to add maybe 10-20g sugar and less cream cheese. i didn't do the frosting either, i just use whipped cream and confectioners' sugar, plus 1/8 teaspoon red food coloring, and fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This cake was a HUGE HIT! I followed these other suggestions: Used French Vanilla cake mix, strawberry cream cheese, I beat the eggs before adding and used a different frosting. For the frosting I creamed together 1/2 c margarine and 1/2 c shortening, then beat in 5 c confectioner's sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp butter flavor, 1/2 tsp almond extract, 1/8 tsp salt, 1/4 c milk, then slowly added in 8 oz of softend cream cheese. One thing I did notice was when I cut off the top of the cake to level it in the slightly smaller of the two cakes was the center was still pudding like in the center after cooling for over an hour. I put it back in the oven, with the top trimmed off for 15 minutes at 200 degrees and it was fine. I stuck it in the freezer to cool for about 15 minutes before icing, but it was still a little warm, but it was ok for icing because it had already set on the outside from the first time I cooked it. The cake was moist, dense and held up very well. I topped it with sliced strawberries, that I marinated in sugar for an hour. You are supposed to drain the strawberries afterwards, but I didn't so the red juice ran down the cake a little bit, but it made the bottom very moist and the color of the juice looked nice on the cake. This was my first cake to bake and I was really happy about how it turned out. I'm making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I made this yummy tasting cake for my husband on our 1 year wedding anniversary and he loved it!! It took a little longer to bake in the oven than described in the recipe but it turned out very moist! I melted the white chocolate before I mixed in the cool whip and put it in the freezer to let it thicken before frosting the cake. Great cake and it has a wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chisago City, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
9This cake was wonderful. Some reviews said the cake was to sweet, but I don't think they are cake eaters. Some reviews said that the cake was not fluffy enough, but I think they did not beat the eggs enough. I did make a few changes. I used strawberry cream cheese as suggested by other reviewers, i also beat the eggs seperatly until they were fluffy before adding them to the cake mix. Strawberries were not in season when I made the cake, so I sliced and sweetend them. I used two quarts of strawberries instead of one and put strawberries between the cake layers. Also some reviewers complianed that the frosting was hard to work with, so I made the frosting first and put it in the fridge while I prepared the rest of the cake. I let kept the cake in the fridge overnight, until it was time to serve. The next time I make the cake, I will make it the same way I made it this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMMIE6164

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This cake was DELICIOUS!!! My family loves it! Though my hubby was not fascinated by the white chocolate chunks in the frosting. So next time, I think I will melt the white chocolate before adding to the combo for the frosting. Otherwise, absolute a #1 recommend :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This is one of the best cakes I've ever made, didnt change a thing. Simple and easy, and it was a big hit. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States