Strawberry Dream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Made for Connie's birthday! Absolutely the best.. For special occasions..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made this cake today for my brothers birthday....everybody loved it, but I did add an extra 1/3 cup of the frozen strawberries pureed to give it more of a strawberry taste.....it came out very good....I thought the icing was thin, but to thicken it up I added 2 ounces more of cream cheese and an extra 4 ounces of whipped topping...all together the cake was great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I've made this cake about 10 times now. It is probably one of my favorite cakes ever. Every time I make it, people freak out over how delicious and perfect it is. It does take some work, and it's a bit expensive, but it's worth it. You must keep it refrigerated, for taste and structural integrity. But, I make the cake with chocolate cake mix instead of white cake mix. I've made it both ways, but chocolate cake mix is MuchMuch better. I've seen a lot of complaints about the frosting. I've had trouble with it too, but it's one of the best parts about the cake, so don't skip it! What I've done if it is too thin, is chill it for a while, or add more cream cheese, and then whip it up nice and thick with a mixer. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I made this cake for a 4th of July party. It was wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly as written. It's so pretty, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I have always took pride in my cooking and baking abilities but this one took me by surprise! I added fresh strawberry slices between the layers. This cake is beyond YuMMy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This was absolutely amazing and not overly sweet or heavy. Even my diabetic fiance who doesn't like sweets had some every day until it was gone. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondEyes5772

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I am a novice in the kitchen. Step 2 confused me but after the third time I figured out instead of using water use the strawberries. It was an easy cake to make. unfortunately I forgot the cool whip so I had to make the whip topping from heavy cream etc. I used strawberry cream cheese in both the cake and the topping as someone else suggested and added in 4 oz of vanilla pudding. my white cake mix called for just egg whites, but I used the whole egg. I personally don't eat cake. This was made for a family gathering Everyone loved it! someone commented "oh this is so good . This is a homemade cake" Yeah betty crocker and I made it right at home. I will make this again I doubled the recipe but next time will only use 2 8x8 pans instead of 3 and don't double. cake was tall. couldn't fit the slices on the plate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nenasunshine2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TAURUSGIRL
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I was so excited to make this, but the final result wasn't what I was hoping for. It didn't wow me AT ALL. The frosting was thin and didn't hold up well, even after chilling the whipping cream / chocolate and whipping afterwards. I baked for 30 min. and didn't have trouble with it not setting. This cake wasn't worth the effort it took to make in my opinion. Update!! I reviewed with 2 stars, but am going to up it to 4 because seriously, I couldn't quit eating this cake. It really was pretty good! I would put more strawberries on the top next time, as the bites with stawberries were my favorite! I might make this again, but try a different frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I turned these into cupcakes which turned out really good. I did 4 oz cream cheese and 1/2 cup sour cream. I also added a bit of red food colouring for a darker colour cupcake. And piped some strawberry glaze into the centers, dusting with icing sugar in an attempt to recreate a treat from a local eatery. Very happy with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I've had trouble with the cream cheese mixing in with both the cake and frosting. Be sure to get Philadelphia cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States