Strawberry Dream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I was in a chocolate cake mood this weekend, and switched the white cake for a chocolate cake mix and it was wonderful. I loved the density of the cake and the frosting was too yummy to just have on cake. I had a few strawberries left over and dipped the strawberries in the frosting!!! Amazing recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Gonzales

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Only 1 word can describe this cake, AWESOME! My daughter requested this cake for her birthday and I have to admit that it was even better than I expected! I followed the suggestions of others and used strawberry cream cheese, but other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This cake was amazing. The first time I made it I didn't have quite enough white chocolate so I used 4oz instead, and it still turned out fine. It was made for a coworker and everyone loved it. My children have requested it with different types of fruit on top. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Excellent. Definitely use the strawberry cream cheese instead of plain. And I opted for the lighter frosting that consisted of heavy whipping cream, Cool Whip and cream cheese pudding. I keep getting requests to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lynn Sawyer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Great cake; everyone loved it. I made this in a tube pan, which doesn't require as much icing, so you can make the cream & white chocolate mixture but not add as much cool whip (I'm not a big fan of cool whip anyway). I followed others' reviews and used strawberry cream cheese in the cake mix, and beat the cream/white chocolate mixture to firm it up a little before adding the cool whip. Next time, since I have a small family, I might make 2 loaf pans, decorate one and freeze the other for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Just not quite a 5 star cake. Close though. I used strawberry cream cheese and added 1tsp strawberry extract to the cake mix. I only used 3egg whites as that is what the box called for. Next time I will not purée the strawberries as I think little chunks throughout the cke would be great. The frosting was good. I didn't have any problems with it being to thin. I just blended the cream cheese first and let it all sit I the fridge for a few hours before adding the col whip. I put a layer of sliced strawberries in between the layers of cake along with a layer of frosting. Made for. Nice presentation. I might use more strawberries in the batter next time. Baked at 325 for 34 minutes. I really didn't think it was done but was afraid of overcoming so pulled it out and am thankful I did because although it was very dense it was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This cake was no dream. A bit more like a nightmare, at least as far as prep is concerned. It looked deceptively simple, just white cake mix, frozen strawberries and cream cheese and with a really high rating from a lot of people. After reading all of the reviews I made a ton of changes and I hope it works out but if it doesn’t that is o.k. as I have another cake recipe lined up just in case. Here are the changes I made. I added 1/8 teaspoon red food dye to make sure it was nice and pink. I also added 1 tsp strawberry extract to make sure it tasted really strawberry-y. I did not add an extra egg (in this case egg white). I also used strawberry cream cheese instead of regular. So I basically put all the wet ingredients in the blender, I can’t quite be sure how much frozen strawberries I had, (I used my own in the freezer) because it wouldn’t blend for me to measure it but I would guestimate about 1 1/2 cups, to these I added 2 TBS sugar. I also put in 1/3 cup water. Then the oil, the egg whites then the cream cheese and extract. Then I just followed the box directions and basically mixed the dry and the wet with a hand mixer and added the food coloring at that time. Everything turned out good. It wasn’t the best cake in the world but it was pink and it definitely had a good strawberry flavor. The texture was good, kind of spongy and moist but not so moist as I like it but not dry either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Rating the cake; didn't make the icing. Cake is wonderful, lots of flavor, moist, and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shay23873
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I am in loooove with this cake so was everyone else !!!! it was delicious and moist and perfect !!!!! I also used strawberry cream cheese and TAKE TIME with your icing I did and it came out excellent I think the key with the icing was after whipping it put it back in the freezer to stiffen it before icing your cake. Also as others suggest i used red food coloring and it was a niceer color :) so happy I found this I will be making it for many occasions it is nice and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shay23873

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This cake is a beautiful presentation, but the cake was dry and a brownish color. I would have liked the cake to be a pretty pink color. Next time I might use a strawberry cake mix. Love the frosting, and I did add an extra 2 oz of cream cheese to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States