Strawberry Dream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
The cake was a big hit with everyone except me. I thought it was heavy and didn't have the flavor that I thought it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liv_nikole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I made this cake for my daughter's first birthday because she loves strawberries and this cake was a hit. I followed one of the reviewers posts about using strawberry cream cheese and and followed the recipe to a T. This cake was so moist and tasty. Keeping this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pumpk1nhed

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
The icing tasted alright, but it was very runny. The cake fell in the middle, and wouldn't cook evenly. Ruined a birthday cake, it was very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
The cake part was awesome! But, the icing was an absolute disaster!! I followed the directions to a tee and it is really runny! I would call it a glaze not icing. Next time I will use the cake recipe but use a different icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixiegirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moseley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I must agree with others who likened this cake to a dense pudding-like concoction. It was also sickenly sweet. I made the mistake of using the strawberry cream cheese. In retrospect, I feel the regular cream cheese would have been fine. Plus, I think the recipe would have been better without the extra egg! I'm not a fan of cake mixes so maybe that's part of my problem. I normally bake cakes from scratch. The frosting was just a mess! I had to freeze it for a couple hours and even then it just kind of glopped over the cake. Several sweet-toothed family members taste-tested it before I served it and not one of them thought much of it. I'll not be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Weber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenolden, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Haddon Heights, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
taste wise..this cake taste very good. but the frosting is to thin to ice and the strawberry favor is not as strong as i like. probably wont make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caramelcutie22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This is my new favorite cake recipe!! I made it for a dinner at church. Definitely a keeper and a make again in the very near future. I had French Vanilla cake mix on hand, so I used it instead of white cake mix. I didn't try the frosting because I ran out of time but the cake is perfect with just a little whipped topping on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This was possibly the WORST cake I have ever tried. It did not have much of a strawberry flavor, disgustingly sweet, and the texture was that of cookie dough (and, yes, it was fully cooked through). I will never make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was a very tasty dessert, however, I managed to screw it up! I need to learn to be patient! When doing the frosting, I figured that the cream mixture was cooled enough, it was only slightly warm, so I mixed in the cool whip! Bad idea. Wait until it is COMPLETELY cooled before adding the cool whip. My frosting was more like a thick soup than a nice light topping! The taste was great, appearance....not so nice! Regardless, I had no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H.E.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I made this cake last night for my neice. I have tried many of the Strawberry Cake recipies from this site and this one is my favorite! The kids have liked all the ones I have tried but this is hands down the best! I used a butter recipe yellow cake mix - and did increase the egg as directed. I did have to bake the cake for an extra 10 minutes-but otherwise it was perfect! I did not try the frosting - I went with a strawberry/cream cheese/powdered sugar combination. Very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milledgeville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Stillman Valley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States