Strawberry Dream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
This was delicious but the color wasn't pretty. I will add some red food coloring or use a strawberry cake mix next time. I think the icing is great. I made this icing with a Duncan Hines orange supreme cake mix and I believe it was the best cake I've ever made. I added orange zest and substituted orange juice for the water, split the layers so it was a four layer cake. It tasted like a Dreamsicle. I took it to work and it was a hit. Just got to keep it refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Made this cake for Mother's Day and was not disappointed. Read the reviews and let the chocolate cool before adding the whipped cream and it turned out perfectly! My cake was devoured while the famous Portillo's chocolate cake was hardly touched.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Made the cake without the frosting. My cake mix called for 1 1/4 cups water (which I did substitute with defrosted whole strawberries that I pureed in the blender), and 3 egg whites. I followed another reviewer's tip to only use 3 eggs max, and I used whole eggs since the recipe didn't specify egg whites only. It made exactly 24 cupcakes which came out fluffy and beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleBetty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This is my first time making the cake and I read all the reviews, they were very helpful. I did bake it in two 8 inch pans and not 9 inch. The cake came out perfect, however, I choose to use the frosting recipe that comes with the recipe. I did heat the heavy whipping cream and poured it over the white chocolate, then I cooled it and made sure everything I had for my mixer was cold before beating it. (I thought this would make it stiffer) When I beat it, it did not whip up liked I hoped. I let it go for a long while too. I then added the room temp strawberry cream cheese and then folded in the whipped topping. It was very runny. I was afraid to frost the cake with such a runny frosting...so I choose to start again and whipped the heavy whipping cream alone then put in the strawberry whip cream, then folded in the Cool Whip. It turned out much stiffer and was easy to frost. Can anyone tell me is the frosting suppose to be runny like that and then set up in the fridge overnight? The second time I did not add the chocolate either. I kept it simple. I did shave some white chocolate over the top with the strawberries. I am very curious about the frosting!!!! Anyone??? What was the consistency of yours???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn Robinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
OMG! First review, ever, after using allrecipes, for years! You guys FREAKED ME OUT! I used the original recipe for the cake and the frosting....made it for the DH's daughters birthday and fell in LOVE with the frosting!...don't forgo the frosting, as it is the best part! LOVE LOVE LOVE this cake ....and the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Use strawberry cream cheese and no more then three eggs. For the frosting heat the whip cream until it starts to boil. Add chopped chocolate. Refrigerate until cold then whip until thick. Add remaining ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZINOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
soooo good!!!! make sure you use strawberry cream cheese!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nenahy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This was very good except the frosting. I let the cream mixture cool ( not cold) and maybe that was my problem. It was runny when I added the cool whip... never got hard. Ended up using a buttercream frosting which everyone loved. THe cake was great. Will make again with a different frosting. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushmore, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Can't say enough about this cake. I am usually the designated baker for birthdays in my office. This is a frequent request. No changes necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
The cake is so dense, I like lighter. The frosting is so sweet and dense too. Not my favorite cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States