Strawberry Dream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I used this recipe and made star shaped cupcakes for the fourth of July. I used store bought vanilla icing and decorated them with red white and blue sprinkles. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzieG

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I warmed my cream cheese in the microwave before adding it to the batter, and even so there were tiny balls of cream cheese in the baked cake. The icing was very yummy but the cake itself was not good at all. I followed the recipe exactly and could barely taste any strawberry flavor in the cake. Very disappointed in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jsierschula
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
So I didn't have all the problems other people were having with the cake being soggy in the middle I tried this as a cupcake recipe. They didn't really have a strong strawberry flavor, I even used strawberry cream cheese as suggested by other reviewers. The recipe itself was pretty simple so I'll probably stick with this one only modify it a bit, since this was only the test run. Next time I'll add a couple teaspoons of strawberry extract. Also because of the bad reviews I didn't even try the icing. Instead I used the one suggested by Grandma Lizzy. 1 cup whipping cream mixed with 1 box instant pudding (she suggested cream cheese flavor but I used white chocolate) then fold into 8 oz. cool whip. It was exactly what I was looking for, light like whipped cream yet stiff enough to use as cupcake incing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jsierschula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This cake turned out great! I did add a layer of strawberrys and frosting to the center!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I made this cake for my fathers Birthday and he absolutely loved it!!!! I had to cook it a little bit longer than the recipe called for, however it might of been my oven. I am defiantly going to make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Y.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Too sweet, would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Super moiast. Not sure why, but it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by threemore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I really, really liked this cake and so did my family! I used the strawberry cream cheese as others had suggested and it tasted great. Also, my cake mix called for 3 eggs, so I didn't add the extra egg. The texture was great. I made the frosting in advance and chilled it and it came out great. I will definitely make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I just tried this recipe yesterday! It turned out great! The cake was very moist, but not wet like some of the negative reviews stated. However, I used 2 cups of strawberry puree (just from the frozen bag, unsweetened) to give the cake more of a strawberry taste and it turned out to give the cake a nice pink-purple kind of color, instead of the forewarned gray. Also, due to the negative reviews about the frosting/icing, I decided to use white chocolate pudding mix instead of the white chocolate itself. It gave the frosting mixture much more body and allowed me to frost the cake easier! It also tastes great! Other than that, I followed the directions to a T and it all turned out great! The cake and the frosting turned out to be not too sweet, which would have destroyed this recipe for me. I'm serving as a birthday cake tonight and had enough for a few cupcakes! I will definitely make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I make this cake for my husband for Father'sDay.He love it,will be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States