Strawberry Dream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I made this cake for my daughter's first birthday because she loves strawberries and this cake was a hit. I followed one of the reviewers posts about using strawberry cream cheese and and followed the recipe to a T. This cake was so moist and tasty. Keeping this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pumpk1nhed

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
The icing tasted alright, but it was very runny. The cake fell in the middle, and wouldn't cook evenly. Ruined a birthday cake, it was very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
The cake part was awesome! But, the icing was an absolute disaster!! I followed the directions to a tee and it is really runny! I would call it a glaze not icing. Next time I will use the cake recipe but use a different icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixiegirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I must agree with others who likened this cake to a dense pudding-like concoction. It was also sickenly sweet. I made the mistake of using the strawberry cream cheese. In retrospect, I feel the regular cream cheese would have been fine. Plus, I think the recipe would have been better without the extra egg! I'm not a fan of cake mixes so maybe that's part of my problem. I normally bake cakes from scratch. The frosting was just a mess! I had to freeze it for a couple hours and even then it just kind of glopped over the cake. Several sweet-toothed family members taste-tested it before I served it and not one of them thought much of it. I'll not be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Weber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenolden, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Haddon Heights, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
taste wise..this cake taste very good. but the frosting is to thin to ice and the strawberry favor is not as strong as i like. probably wont make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caramelcutie22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This is my new favorite cake recipe!! I made it for a dinner at church. Definitely a keeper and a make again in the very near future. I had French Vanilla cake mix on hand, so I used it instead of white cake mix. I didn't try the frosting because I ran out of time but the cake is perfect with just a little whipped topping on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This was possibly the WORST cake I have ever tried. It did not have much of a strawberry flavor, disgustingly sweet, and the texture was that of cookie dough (and, yes, it was fully cooked through). I will never make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was a very tasty dessert, however, I managed to screw it up! I need to learn to be patient! When doing the frosting, I figured that the cream mixture was cooled enough, it was only slightly warm, so I mixed in the cool whip! Bad idea. Wait until it is COMPLETELY cooled before adding the cool whip. My frosting was more like a thick soup than a nice light topping! The taste was great, appearance....not so nice! Regardless, I had no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H.E.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I made this cake last night for my neice. I have tried many of the Strawberry Cake recipies from this site and this one is my favorite! The kids have liked all the ones I have tried but this is hands down the best! I used a butter recipe yellow cake mix - and did increase the egg as directed. I did have to bake the cake for an extra 10 minutes-but otherwise it was perfect! I did not try the frosting - I went with a strawberry/cream cheese/powdered sugar combination. Very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milledgeville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Stillman Valley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Yummy, yummy, yummy! I made this cake with "Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting" instead of the frosting recipe it comes with, since it was for my little one's first birthday cake. The cake was FANTASTIC, it reminds me of real strawberry ice cream. Every guest at my party had two pieces, and I got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States