Strawberry Dream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I have made this recipe twice now. Both times it was very good. However the second time I used a cake mix that called for three eggs so I added a forth as the recipe said. (add an extra egg!) Don't do that. Three eggs is enough the forth makes it just too heavy. It was still good but comparing it to the first cake it was not as good. For best results use the strawberry cream cheese, there is something about it that just makes a difference. I used the regular cream cheese the second time and just added a tablespoon of strawberry preserves and it tasted very good but was not as good as when I used the strawberry cream cheese. As for the icing I did the icing that was suggested the first time and it was good but all the things the other reviewers said I found to be true. Just realize that it will be a little difficult to work with. The second cake I used the icing recipe that I found on here several years ago and it has been my stand by since. 1 cup of whipping cream whipped with 1 box of instant pudding(I use cream cheese flavor) and then fold it into a 8 oz tub of cool whip. It is nice and stiff and tastes great. It compliments this cake well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This cake is my husbands new favorite cake! I've made it several times already. Several reviewers mentioned that the strawberry flavor was not strong enough. I've found that this is easily remedied by using strawberry cream cheese in the cake and making it a day in advance and storing in the fridge. The flavor is much stronger (and tastier) the next day. Also an easy way to make sure you have no clumps in your frosting; let the cream cheese come to room temperature, dice up into cubes and put in a blender, finely chop the white chocolate and once the cream is warmed melt the chocolate in it then pour the warm chocolate/cream mixture over cream cheese, cover and blend until smooth. I've made the frosting with both cool whip and fresh whipping cream it is much better with heavy whipping cream. This is my go to recipe whenever we have company for dinner.***update*** I just made this with raspberries instead of strawberries and it was AMAZING! I just used raspberry cream cheese and sweetened pureed raspberries that i put through a siv(sp?) to get out all the seeds.*** The possibilities are endless, made it again with pineapple cream cheese and pureed canned pineapple and hubby loved it! Maybe even more than the strawberry***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sally S.
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Everybody loved this. I made it in a 13X9 sheet pan for easy transport. I also used strawberry cream cheese in the cake, and unsweetened strawberries (measured before I pureed them) with 2.5 T sugar added. Everything mixed up fine in my mixer after a few minutes. The cake baked in about 32 minutes, and was moist but not soggy. The frosting was also delicious- make sure the cream cheese is at room temp. and the whipped topping is thawed for it to mix well. If assembling a layer cake, the frosting would definitely need to be refrigerated in order to hold, as well as after the cake is made or it will fall apart. Otherwise, this was easy and just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This is a great cake but lousy instructions. The reason everyone is having such a difficult time with frosting is the whipping cream should be chilled after you melt the chocolate in it. Then when cold, it should be beaten until stiff peaks form. Then beat in the cream cheese. Stir in the cool whip last.I only used half of a 8 oz tub. Was plenty of frosting. The second problem withe recipe was mixing the cake. The order is all wrong! Beat the cream cheese first until smooth, then add eggs one at a time (do not add but 3 eggs)Then add the cake mix. Batter will be thick. The third problem is bake time. It is more like 30-35 minutes. That is why some are having problems with it being wet and soggy. Other than poor directions this cake is awesome! Done right, that frosting is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Everyone loved this cake! One tip for the frosting, though...it didn't get thick enough to use even after cooling, so I beat it with an electric mixer for a couple of minutes. The heavy cream helped it get firm, but still light and creamy, after mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
This cake is fantastic, have made it 5 times. It's one of the few never-fail recipes! Didnt' have store-bought cake mix, so I used the Cake Mix from Scratch recipe from this site. Strawberry taste isn't strong enough for my liking, rectified somewhat using extra 1 tbs strawberry extract. Tastes MUCH better when cold, like a light cheesecake. Potential candidate for the small cake business I'm setting up! Also, bake in the lower HALF, not the lower THIRD, of the oven, to prevent the top cracking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
Hands down one of the best cakes I have ever made. At first I thought I did something wrong because the batter was very thick and dense, and I thought it wouldnt rise well. But it ended up great and only lasted a few hours. The BEST strawberry cake. If you're having trouble deciding on a recipe definately try this one first! It is a very moist, creamy cake. The only thing I changed was the frosting because I wanted something simple. I used the frosting from the Strawberry Cream Cake recipe. It is very light and not too sweet. Perfect for this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
Made this cake today for my daughters birthday. Wow!!! I did it in a bundt pan (baked for 55 min)split it in half, put some of the frosting and sliced strawberries in the middle then frosted. I covered some strawberries in milk chocolate and drizzled the rest over the white frosting --- very impressive. This is sure a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I made this cake for a little girl's birthday party. The cake part is EXCELLENT; I used a white cake mix and used egg whites instead of the extra egg. Nice, dense, moist, rich cake; I'd definitely make it again. I layered it with the frosting and a homemade strawberry-almond filling. The frosting was pretty good. I found that if I stored the cake in the fridge, the frosting got very grainy. If the frosting was room-temp, it was perfectly smooth and creamy. So as long as you don't chill the frosting, this is a wonderfully delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I made this cake for my husband for his birthday and it was GREAT! Doesn't taste AT ALL like it came from a cake mix. I used Splenda sweetened strawberries and they worked great. Also used 1/3 less fat in the cake and I don't think the cake suffered at all. I baked in a 13x9" pan - which I'm glad because the cake is so moist and the icing was abit thin. I poked holes the cake before frosting so teh icing could run down in it. HMmmm. Will keep this one for more summer strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinNurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States