Strawberry Dream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This was tasty, but very dense. It may be my fault, because I didn't add the extra egg, as I thought the 3 called for would suffice. My crazy husband wanted chocolat frosting, so it would probably be better balanced with a lighter, whipped cream type frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This recipe is absolutely delicious. It takes a bit more effort than I usually put into a cake, so I don't make it very often. But when I do, it's a big hit at parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This cake has turned my family into a bunch of drooling maniacs. Everytime I visit, I am forced to make this cake. Every birthday. Every holiday. My family thanks you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yammuffin
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
WOW this cake is so delicious! I only used half the cream cheese & it didn't turn out too moist like other reviewers have said. Also, used un-sweetened frozen strawberries & only added 2 tsps. of powdered sugar to those strawberries. The frosting is delicious but does not stay well. I don't recommend this frosting for a 2 layer cake but would be great if you're doing a sheet style. It sort of "deflated" in the fridge and the 2 layers of my cake slipped apart. I am trying this again today with a different frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
5 stars for the cake itself (I didn't even bother with the icing because it got such consistently bad reviews). The strawberry flavor is just right when you use strawberry cream cheese, and the cake is moist and tender. 25 minutes at 350 was just right in my oven, and I baked it in a 9 by 13 pan . Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dani
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
The cake was great, moist and yummy and just the right amount of strawberry flavor, but the frosting was way too runny! It tasted great but it just wouldn't firm up. I needed a quick fix so I took the rest of my heaving cream and made whipped cream and added some melted white chocolate to it and it saved the day! I also added some strawberry slices in between the layers for some extra flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dani

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
My husband makes this cake and its awesome! He has made it for me 3 times and yes its time consuming but the results are sooooo worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superwoman8977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missz174
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This cake was a BIG hit. They couldn't stop saying how good it was. Easy to make. I didn't make the white choclate topping, but instead made the Easy Whipped Ceam (w/ a hint of the juice from the strawberries) from this site. It was a nice accompaniment to the light strawberry flavor of the cake. I did think it was a little dense even though I added 2 cups pureed strawberries. I also added a tsp of strawberry extract for added flavor. I think next time I will add a 1/4 - 1/2 cup water just to make it a little less dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missz174

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
made this for my sons first birthday it tasted really good but i found the frosting hard to work with so i wont make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
No one commented good or bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States