Strawberry Dream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
The cake is so dense, I like lighter. The frosting is so sweet and dense too. Not my favorite cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I thought it was the best cake I've made in a long time! Can be a little costly but worth it. My mother loves strawberries so I'm surprising her with it for her Birthday!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I gave this 2 stars because I didn't like that it wasn't a cake texture and that the leftovers got soggy after sitting for a couple days. After adding strawberry extract and 3/4 packet of strawberry gelating I felt the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I was in a chocolate cake mood this weekend, and switched the white cake for a chocolate cake mix and it was wonderful. I loved the density of the cake and the frosting was too yummy to just have on cake. I had a few strawberries left over and dipped the strawberries in the frosting!!! Amazing recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Gonzales

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Only 1 word can describe this cake, AWESOME! My daughter requested this cake for her birthday and I have to admit that it was even better than I expected! I followed the suggestions of others and used strawberry cream cheese, but other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This cake was amazing. The first time I made it I didn't have quite enough white chocolate so I used 4oz instead, and it still turned out fine. It was made for a coworker and everyone loved it. My children have requested it with different types of fruit on top. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Excellent. Definitely use the strawberry cream cheese instead of plain. And I opted for the lighter frosting that consisted of heavy whipping cream, Cool Whip and cream cheese pudding. I keep getting requests to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lynn Sawyer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Great cake; everyone loved it. I made this in a tube pan, which doesn't require as much icing, so you can make the cream & white chocolate mixture but not add as much cool whip (I'm not a big fan of cool whip anyway). I followed others' reviews and used strawberry cream cheese in the cake mix, and beat the cream/white chocolate mixture to firm it up a little before adding the cool whip. Next time, since I have a small family, I might make 2 loaf pans, decorate one and freeze the other for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Just not quite a 5 star cake. Close though. I used strawberry cream cheese and added 1tsp strawberry extract to the cake mix. I only used 3egg whites as that is what the box called for. Next time I will not purée the strawberries as I think little chunks throughout the cke would be great. The frosting was good. I didn't have any problems with it being to thin. I just blended the cream cheese first and let it all sit I the fridge for a few hours before adding the col whip. I put a layer of sliced strawberries in between the layers of cake along with a layer of frosting. Made for. Nice presentation. I might use more strawberries in the batter next time. Baked at 325 for 34 minutes. I really didn't think it was done but was afraid of overcoming so pulled it out and am thankful I did because although it was very dense it was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This cake was no dream. A bit more like a nightmare, at least as far as prep is concerned. It looked deceptively simple, just white cake mix, frozen strawberries and cream cheese and with a really high rating from a lot of people. After reading all of the reviews I made a ton of changes and I hope it works out but if it doesn’t that is o.k. as I have another cake recipe lined up just in case. Here are the changes I made. I added 1/8 teaspoon red food dye to make sure it was nice and pink. I also added 1 tsp strawberry extract to make sure it tasted really strawberry-y. I did not add an extra egg (in this case egg white). I also used strawberry cream cheese instead of regular. So I basically put all the wet ingredients in the blender, I can’t quite be sure how much frozen strawberries I had, (I used my own in the freezer) because it wouldn’t blend for me to measure it but I would guestimate about 1 1/2 cups, to these I added 2 TBS sugar. I also put in 1/3 cup water. Then the oil, the egg whites then the cream cheese and extract. Then I just followed the box directions and basically mixed the dry and the wet with a hand mixer and added the food coloring at that time. Everything turned out good. It wasn’t the best cake in the world but it was pink and it definitely had a good strawberry flavor. The texture was good, kind of spongy and moist but not so moist as I like it but not dry either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States