Strawberry Dream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Jenn
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Absolutely fantastic!!!!! I followed some of the suggestions on here and used strawberry cream cheese in the cake, I also substituted a Vanilla Cake mix for the white cake, which called for three eggs, so I used two whole eggs and two egg whites. The frosting was awesome. I was a little concerned with it being too runny especially after reading all the reviews...I added a couple tablespoons of powdered sugar and a couple teaspoons of flour. I wish I wouldn't have added the extra sugar, because it made it a pinch sweeter than I would have liked it, but that still didn't stop me from licking the spoon like crazy! I put the frosting in the fridge for a couple of hours, and even stuck it in the freezer for about 20 mins because I was nervous about it, but it ended up being absolutely perfect. It made a ton of frosting and I put a thick layer of frosting in between my cake layers along with a nice layer of fresh strawberries. I think I could have skipped the extra sugar and flour in the frosting and it would have thickened up fine in the fridge after a couple of hours. I also put a couple of drops of red food coloring in the cake batter, because some of the review said the cake turned a strange grey color, and this was for my 4 year old daughters princess party so I wanted to make sure it was nice and pink. It turned out gorgeous. There were tiny lumps of white chocolate in the frosting that no one else noticed by me. Other than that it was perfect and I will most lik
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
A ton of work for a mediocre dessert. Frosting was very runny. I have to admit the cake was very moist and "pudding-like" as advertised, but did not wow me by any means.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I made this for my Son's Birthday. I followed the suggestions from other's reviews and it turned out very good. I think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AWILL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bunnlevel, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LOLA
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I made this for my families Mother's Day picnic and was very leary after reading the neg reviews but, already had bought all the ingredients. I was pleasantly surprized. I would definetly recommend this cake to be refrigerated the night before as well as the frosting then frost it the next day. If you do this the frosting will not be runny and will stay on the cake. It thickened up the next day. My cake was a nice pink color in the inside was very moist and had a nice balance with the cream cheese, white choc and whipped cream. Everyone loved it and said it looked nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I made this cake for my Son's 6th birtday...it was gone the same day that it was made. Everyone loved it. The cake was moist and the frosting was "yummy." I did add a packet of vanilla pudding mix to the frosting and left it in the fridge overnight. I don't think I had to add the pudding as the consistency seemed ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Man

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
this did not come out right for me. I followed all the directions and the cake sanke before I even frosted it. Too expensive to waste all those ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Cherry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I made some changes, so I'm giving this 5 *s based on the finished product. I used a French vanilla cake mix, added an extra egg white, and left out the oil (that part was accidental). I added a couple of drops of red food coloring to the batter to counteract the grayness. I was worried about the cream cheese lumps in the batter, but they didn't affect the texture of the cupcake. (Next time I will blend the cream cheese first with the eggs and some of the strawberry puree.) The recipe made exactly 72 mini cupcakes (baked for 17 minutes). The texture was fluffy and light, and there was plenty of strawberry flavor. Maybe those who didn't get the flavor drained the strawberries? The recipe didn't specify, so I pureed them with the syrup. I topped them with a vanilla buttercream and slice of strawberry. They tasted like little strawberry shortcakes, but better. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This was by far one of the best cakes ever! I followed it exactly except i did use strawberry cream cheese.The texture is amazing and the frosting Oh My! The possibilities! i cant wait to start to expearment with this one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucy
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I made this for my fIL bday. I definitely wowed him. The cake is extremely moist. Tasted wonderful. My frosting was nice and smooth. Just a beautiful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
As written, it's not anything spectacular. I thought the idea was great and it had my mouth watering just reading it. The "icing" was too watery and the cake was too dense. I may try again using less eggs or only egg whites. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States