Strawberry Dream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by MImom
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This was delicious, rich and definitely a splurge. It was thick and creamy and tasted best cold. I made it really fancy with strawberries everywhere, even between the layers. I did use another reviewers idea to add dry cream cheese pudding to the frosting recipe and let it chill overnight. It was just the right "spreading" consistency. This cake received many compliments. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MImom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Linden, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Fabulous, will definitely make it again and again. The only thing that was hard was to figure out how long to bake it (I made it in a specialty pan). The tooth pick wont come out clean. And if it does come out clean, its overbaked and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
If you're a lazy cook like me, just throw this thing in a 9 x 13 pan, it takes 10 minutes tops to whip this up! A perfect quick dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This cake was a hit with my family! Everyone wanted more. We found that the cake tasted MUCH better cold, straight from the fridge. Next time, I would make the frosting with less whipped topping to make it easier to frost with - it was very thin, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkplasticpen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This cake tasted GREAT!! Very moist and the icing was DELICIOUS! I will be adding this receipe to my stash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I haven't made any other strawberry cakes, but this one is great. I used low fat cream cheese and it seemed fine. I tried non-fat cream cheese for the frosting, but I wouldn't recommend that. I also used fresh strawberries instead of frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This cake was absolutely amazing -- I generally avoid cake mix recipes because I find they taste too much like chemicals, but that certainly doesn't apply to this one. I used the Duncan Hines super moist white cake mix, used only three egg whites, 2 tbsp of oil and used low-fat Philly strawberry cream cheese. I took it out of the oven at 25 minutes and it was cooked perfectly. After cooling it, I frosted it with another white chocolate frosting from this site, but to up the strawberry flavour a bit, I put a thick layer of strawberry jam between the two layers of cake and topped it with a layer of the frosting before putting the top cake layer on. I then refrigerated it for a night before serving it, and the end result was a super moist, dense, but still cake-like cake. It was absolutely amazing, fresh tasting, strawberry-tastic and delicious! It won rave reviews from everyone at dinner. In fact, my mother in law, who never has more than one small slice of cake, asked for seconds. Thanks for an incredible recipe, Beth! This one will go into my permanent file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Did not care for this cake, and was very diappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is a genius recipe. I made it for Fathers Day this past weekend and it was the talk of the day. I wouldn't change anything about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nallerylicardie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Franklin Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I was looking for something to fix up a strawberry cake mix (since it was all artificially flavored- icky!) so I tried this recipe. I'm only rating the cake, since I didn't try the frosting. The cake wasn't bad- it was EXTREMELY moist and pretty dense, but not a bad texture, if you like a moist cake. The mix called for 3 eggs, and after reading reviews, I didn't add another. I also used a bit less cream cheese. The flavor was ok but not great, probably the fault of the artificial:( cake mix, although I don't think it would have had much flavor if I had used a white mix. I would not make this again unless I happen to come across another strawberry cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by s2055

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States