Strawberry Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
To make less dense, I think you should cut down on the butter and eggs (say to 6 tbs of butter and only 1 or 2 eggs) and then make up for the lost moisture with 1/2 c whole milk. When beating together butter and sugar, make you are do it for a good 3-4 minutes. It will get noticeable lighter. Also cut the flour a little bit. Finally, only add a pinch of salt. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Hundley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Delicious! I tweaked the recipe a bit and had fantastic results. As per another reviewers suggestion, I used only 6 tbs butter and added 1/2 c whole milk (still used 3 eggs!). I baked the cupcakes for the full 25 minutes and they were perfect! Not at all muffiny. Only a couple made it until the next day, and they were still great. We used buttercream frosting and that was a bit heavy for the cupcake, so maybe next time I'll try something new. Can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I should have read the reviews before making this recipe. I am supposed to be making strawberry cupcakes for a 9 year old's birthday party. These turned out to be delicious muffins, but definately NOT cupcakes. It's my own fault for trying a new recipe the day of the party, but now I must go buy some cupcakes at the store because there isn't time to make any now. If you want strawberry muffins though, these are really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I followed the suggestion of 6TBS butter, one egg, and I used 1/2 skim milk and a lot of strawberries and vanilla extract. These were still buttery cupcakes, even with these lighter adjustments. I made icing with 8oz cream cheese, 2 cups powdered sugar and dash of vanilla extract and topped with strawberries. Good like a strawberry shortcake, not a typical cupcake flavor or texture. I will make again as they were a hit for my neice's 3rd birthday =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I've tried making them for the recent mothers day celebration.The texture isn't soft enough for my likings but the taste isn't that bad. Any idea of how to make it more soft and fluffy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Enjoyed these very much. Didn't have any strawberry extract, so I used vanilla and they still turned out. I would go 1/2 cup finely chopped strawberries and I love the fruit and felt the 1/4 cup left me wanting more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KogoCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I frosted these with Cara's White Chocolate Sour Cream Frosting. I was a little disappointed that they fell a little when i took them from the oven, but that was probably my fault. They still looked really nice though, and the texture was wonderful. I prepared them as described by another reviewer and I didn't use the extract, but used almost .5 liters of strawberries. Still very moist 2 days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This is a fun recipe but I let the strawberries drain so it woldn't be "wet". I also made a strawberry mousse frosting and added a strawberry taffy candy for decoration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
These are fantastic! Used for a baby girl shower. To save time, I bought vanilla frosting and mixed in leftover strawberry flavor to taste- so yummy! These were gone in a minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Emily’s Tip for Heart-Shaped Cupcakes

See a simple trick for making fun heart-shaped cupcakes.

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States