Strawberry Cupcakes with Lemon Zest Cream Cheese Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
Mushy bottoms. Add only strawberries to batter. Increase lemon zest and juice in frosting to your liking. I really need to read comments BEFORE I start a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DoughGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
First time trying this recipe. Worked perfectly and looked pretty. Wish I could help the other reviewers who said that their purée middles were mushy. Mine turned out exactly as expected - a little surprise of color and flavor. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DoughGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I took these to a family gathering and I made about 4 dozen, they were gone within minutes! I wouldn't change a thing about them they were sweet and the icing was creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanna City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Like many other reviewers, i agree that the puree did end up a mushy pit at the bottom. The cupcakes still tasted great. Instead of 1/2 tsp. of lemon juice in the icing, i used the juice from 1/2 of the lemon and in my opinion it was just the right amount. Next time I plan on mixing the puree into the batter and hopefully they wont be as mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
i liked the creamyness of it but it didnt taste like lemon!!! if i make it again i would add 1/4 cup of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Can someone pleasee tell me where I went wrong.. I did everything it said to do but I ended up with a very mushy cupcake inside and a huge pit on the outside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Messy but delicious! I made these to the exact recipe instructions and I agree with other reviewers. I would reduce the puree and add to the batter next time for a hopefully more consistent and less mushy cupcake. I found the frosting a little runny - which I have never had a problem with other cream cheese frosting recipes in the past. I would definitely make again with the changes - awesome flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnus' Momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I just added my strawberry puree to the batter for extra strawberry-y cupcakes due to other reviews indicating the puree in the middle made the cupcakes mushy. I think you could do with about half the amount of puree if you choose to do it this way. I baked a couple extra minutes, as they seemed very soft. I also added a little extra lemon juice to the frosting recipe... the result was delish! I'd call these Strawberry Lemonade cupcakes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This was a little harder than anticipated. I hope they are worth it! I will let u know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Hauserman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I agree with the other reviewer who said that the filling ended up more like a mushy pit at the bottom. It just didn't seem to work as I expected it to. Next time, I would skip the filling and just add the pureed strawberries to the cake mix to amp up the strawberry flavor. Other than that, the recipe was great. The cupcakes were super moist and I loved the addition of the lemon to the cream cheese frosting. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cream Cheese Bars

Quick, easy, sweet and tangy!

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States