Strawberry Cream Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cookin'Cyn
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This unique meringue base is one to try! It's like one of those Italian meringue cookies, only an entire layer in the bottom of the pan. I used coarsely chopped club crackers and pecans incorporated into the whipped egg whites. Be gentle when adding the cream cheese layer as the base is very delicate and could collapse easily. We absolutely loved this version of a strawberry cream salad. It's so much better the next day, and the day after! Definitely a keeper. Will be great to take to potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin'Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Very good! I used an 8 oz. container of cool whip instead of the recommended 16 oz. size. The 16 oz. size would have been too much for my 13/9 pan. Using the 8 oz. size the jello topping came right to the top of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This was very good. However, the family did not especially like the meringue/cracker/nut layer - though I thought it was delicious. They much preferred the traditional pretzel layer from similar dishes. I did substitute Strawberry- Flavored Cool Whip for regular which gave a nice flavor & color to the middle layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
The crust was extremely sweet. Next time I'll use Splenda in place of the sugar and cut the amount back some. Otherwise it was tasty. I think I prefer the pretzel crust though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin
Living In: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
This is very very rich in sugar... But still very good ... when I make it again I am going to try exchanging the sugar for equal and see if it will be a little bit better... otherwise we loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
PEOPLE! Can I tell you This???!! We ALL loved this salad dessert! It is the BEST!! Nothing was left..and I doubled the recipe! Only change I did was use half the amount of topping! I am in hog heaven!!Oink ! Oink! Oink! God bless you Cheryl for sharing this recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelliegirl21

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
You're so right, Cheryl! The crust on this was much better than the pretzel salad. The ladies at my luncheon raved about it. Very tasty. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
This was wonderful-I brought it to a summer party and it was a huge hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
Although the recipe calls for walnuts, we left them out and enjoyed a wonderfully creamy smooth texture. This recipe is absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
This tastes wonderful but the directions need to be rewritten. The walnuts and vanilla were left out. I knew where to put them in but some others may not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States