Strawberry Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I think the title represents the pie incorrectly. This is a CUSTARD pie! There is nothing cream like. However, I love custard and I love strawberries. I thought the pie was interesting and had great flavor and the crust was great! I will definately make again, but only when I know the peeps I'm cooking for enjoy CUSTARD! You really have to like custard to enjoy this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Excellent dessert.Turned out great. Those who are having problems with it setting up just have to make sure they cook it to the proper consistency. I substituted canned strawberry pie filling for the fresh ones and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I use instant vanilla Jello pudding mix, mixed per directions then add sour cream and top off the strawberries. I also use cream cheese mixed with cool whip and white sugar to top off strawberries or chocolate pie mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This pie tasted good but wasn't quite what I thought it was going to be. I was expecting the cream to be a light, fluffy cream, but it was more like cheesecake- a thick custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
it looke so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Excellent recipe. No problem with the thickening issue turned out perfect. I made mine into a raspberry cream pie and will next time half it and add more fruit and put it on top. I am so glad I finally found a cream pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Great Pie! I will confess I used a prepared crust (GASP!) I know, I know. But I haven't mastered crusts yet. I'm actually glad I did because this is quite a heavy pie. The filling was creamy and YUM-MY! (My advice to those whose didn't set right - You need to cook the filling until it is THICK! Not just thickened, THICK! We're talkin' wallpaper paste people. Cook it over Medium to Medium-High Heat and Constantly Stir.) Anywho, I also threw the Strawberries in a bowl with about a cup of Sugar and chilled for about an hour (or until they get juicy) I used the Strawberries in the pie and used the juice to make whipped cream to top off the pie. Spectacular! I think next time, because the filling is so heavy, I'll make smaller Tarts instead of a whole pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean R. Young

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Simply awesome...rock on!! This is absolutely scrumptious and no changes or substitutions were done on the recipe. For those who had runny pie I am wondering if you cooked the custard long enough or maybe you used frozen strawberries? I made mine with fresh and watched the clock when cooking and it set up perfectly. Thank you for the recipe, it is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
It looked great when it went into the fridge. I let is "set" overnight and it was complete soup. I, too, had some issues making the crust even ~ though it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
very tasty indeed, but mine didn't set up either -- I plan to try it with egg whites instead as maddie03 suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States