Strawberry Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I think the title represents the pie incorrectly. This is a CUSTARD pie! There is nothing cream like. However, I love custard and I love strawberries. I thought the pie was interesting and had great flavor and the crust was great! I will definately make again, but only when I know the peeps I'm cooking for enjoy CUSTARD! You really have to like custard to enjoy this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Excellent dessert.Turned out great. Those who are having problems with it setting up just have to make sure they cook it to the proper consistency. I substituted canned strawberry pie filling for the fresh ones and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I use instant vanilla Jello pudding mix, mixed per directions then add sour cream and top off the strawberries. I also use cream cheese mixed with cool whip and white sugar to top off strawberries or chocolate pie mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This pie tasted good but wasn't quite what I thought it was going to be. I was expecting the cream to be a light, fluffy cream, but it was more like cheesecake- a thick custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
it looke so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Excellent recipe. No problem with the thickening issue turned out perfect. I made mine into a raspberry cream pie and will next time half it and add more fruit and put it on top. I am so glad I finally found a cream pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Great Pie! I will confess I used a prepared crust (GASP!) I know, I know. But I haven't mastered crusts yet. I'm actually glad I did because this is quite a heavy pie. The filling was creamy and YUM-MY! (My advice to those whose didn't set right - You need to cook the filling until it is THICK! Not just thickened, THICK! We're talkin' wallpaper paste people. Cook it over Medium to Medium-High Heat and Constantly Stir.) Anywho, I also threw the Strawberries in a bowl with about a cup of Sugar and chilled for about an hour (or until they get juicy) I used the Strawberries in the pie and used the juice to make whipped cream to top off the pie. Spectacular! I think next time, because the filling is so heavy, I'll make smaller Tarts instead of a whole pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean R. Young

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Simply awesome...rock on!! This is absolutely scrumptious and no changes or substitutions were done on the recipe. For those who had runny pie I am wondering if you cooked the custard long enough or maybe you used frozen strawberries? I made mine with fresh and watched the clock when cooking and it set up perfectly. Thank you for the recipe, it is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
It looked great when it went into the fridge. I let is "set" overnight and it was complete soup. I, too, had some issues making the crust even ~ though it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
very tasty indeed, but mine didn't set up either -- I plan to try it with egg whites instead as maddie03 suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States