Strawberry Cream Cheese French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I made this for our Christmas morning breakfast, it was a hit everyone loved it. It was very easy to make, for the bread peices I used texas bread and it worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I made half a recipe and baked in a 10"x7" dish. I knew once I filled the baking dish that it would take longer to cook since it was deeper, and it did take nearly 1-1/2 hrs. The bread cubes on the top were starting to get a little too brown, so I just put a piece over foil over the dish until it was cooked through. I had some blueberries in the fridge, so I added them to the strawberry layer. For the strawberry sauce, I used both sliced and chopped strawberries and probably added more strawberries than the recipe called for. I forgot to add the butter to the sauce at the end, but I really didn't miss it, so probably wouldn't add in the future and just save a little fat. I used FF half-and-half and reduced fat cream cheese which melted beautifully in the center. This is soooooo easy to make, and its presentation is impressive. It was a treat for sure, and I wouldn't hesitate to serve this to company. Thanks, Tamala, for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I made this for a church brunch and the consensus was that I should have a weekly cooking column in the newspaper then I had to come clean and tell them to check out Allrecipes.com. Everyone raved about it and so did I. I added a teaspoon of cinnamon to the egg mixture and added 2 teaspoons of strawberry extract to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was a knock out recipe at a Cookie Swap and brunch that I went to. I did make only one small modification and that was that I used only 10 eggs. It takes about 20 minutes longer to cook than the recipe called for, but I felt well worth the wait...I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Delicious! I added about 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and about 1 tsp. vanilla extract to the egg mixture. The French toast itself is not very sweet, so the sweet strawberry sauce compliments this perfectly. I will definitely be making this again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Made it exactly like it says. The one step that is missing is that you pour the sauce over the whole casserole and serve immediately as it is best when warm. My family enjoyed it, even said it would make a great dessert!! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I found it cloyingly sweet and too rich. I like the premise, but I would probably cut the cream cheese in half or omit it all together if I were to make it again. I would probably also omit the sauce which I found too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This was wonderful!!! I used 4 extra pieces of bread, and 1 1/2 cream cheese instead of 2 full, also10 extra minutes covered and an extra 10 minutes uncovered, also doubled the strawberries for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chandra Baron

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This was a great recipe. I made it for my inlaws for Mother's Day brunch. After reading many of the reviews, I made a few adjustments as well. I added more strawberries, just over 2 cups. I only used 1 block of cream cheese, which I found sufficient. I used a loaf of Italian bread. I added some cinnamon and some vanilla to the egg mixture. The only issue I came across was the cook time. After cooking for an hour, the center was still pretty runny. I cooked it for another 15-20 minutes and it was just great. Everyone loved it. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This was really good. I made it for my family and we all loved it. The only thing I might have changed was adding more strawberries to the sauce. Other than that, it was worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2buni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States