Strawberry Cobbler II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
DELICIOUS!! I shortened the amount of water after reading the reviews. OMG, this cobbler was a hit! The only change I made was LESS WATER. I started out with 1/4 cup of water, threw in the sugar, cornstarch and fresh strawberries. I kept the extra water near just in case. After it all came to a boil, I lowered the heat and let it sit stirring occasionally. It thickened up in no time so I threw out the rest of the water. I followed the rest of the recipe and the cobbler was gone within 10 minutes of serving it. My neighbor even took half of it home to share with his family because he loved it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MinxyBaby
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
This combination of your basic ingredients was deceptively wonderful. While making it I told my husband I didn't think it would taste very good because there was no spice (like cinnamon) in it, just flour, sugar, and butter... not even lemon! I was getting frustrated because the recipe wasn't specific in the cooking time of the berry sauce and I wasn't sure what consistency it should come out at. My sauce got to a point where it was bubbling, but no longer getting thick. I also wasn't sure exactly what "dot with margarine" meant. I ended up slicing bits of margargine up and dropping on top of the hot berry sauce... that was how I interpreted that term. I thought the batter was going to be the worst, but as my husband says: "the cake is what makes this recipe!" I think the texture of the cake was perfect and I really loved how that brown sugar and maragarine glaze came out. The fresh strawberries had a tonne of flavour, it was amazing! If you are planning on having some cobbbler left over, try not to over thicken the berry sauce... it reheats double as thick (tastes just as good though). In the end, I'd say I don't think there is much you can do to goof this one up. Thanks for this strawberry recipe which is now hubby's favourite cobbler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This would be less runny if the strawberries weren't cooked first and the water was omitted. Unlike other fruit cobblers, I don't cook strawberries on the stove but simply combine the raw berries with other filling ingredients in a baking dish, top with sweet biscuit dough, and bake. Easier and less pots to wash too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
I used fresh strawberries and made the strawberry mixture a day ahead. If you're going to do this, it saves time, but don't add the water. The sugar brings out the juice in the berries and creates its own "soup" as you've seen with strawberry shortcake. It does take longer to cook than the recipe indicates. It cooked for 45 minutes and was still a little under-done. Tasted good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
This is dynamite. I also made it with cherries and it was fantastic. I add a tbl. of cinnamon to the crust and another to the glaze. In addition, I reduced the water for the fruit because it was a bit too watery (to 2/3 cup) and increased the cornstarch (to 1-1/2 tbl.). Serve with fresh whipped cream and you are in heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TODDINHB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Well the taste is good but it's sooo runny. I have made it twice and both times I ended up with a strawberry soup. A yummy soup, but not a cobbler! I am not sure what I could have done differently, I even added extra corn starch last time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Season Gardner Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I was in search of a southern strawberry cobbler like the little place up the road made. This one hit the spot!!! This is my new favorite dessert dish. I used a pyrex glass pan to make this dish in. I of course did as others suggested. I used 3 cases of strawberries, which was approx. 6 cups of strawberries. I added a little bit extra sugar because of the extra ammount of strawberries so I say it was probably about 3/4 cup. I added what one reviewer stated, 1 1/2 TBSP of cornstarch, although I will probably add 2 TBSP next time. I did not cook the strawberry mixture and I left out the water as it was perfect the way it was. I did take the 2 TBSP butter and cut off little pieces to place through out the strawberry mixture once in the pan. I thought the dough mixture was just perfect with the ammount though. I baked it for longer which I thought was very helpful! I baked it for about 40 mins. I then made the brown sugar mixture which I added a little bit of cinnamon and vanilla for flavor...just a splash of each. I brushed the brown sugar mixture over top of it all. Then I baked for close to 20 more mins. Any longer and I think it would have burned but it cooked the dough part enough to make it non cake like. Through and through it was excellent and I will be enjoying this recipe for a long long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
This cobbler is definetly very tasty!! I used 5 to 6 cups of strawberries and I made a half more of the biscuit mixture. If I were to make it again I would add more cornstarch and maybe a little less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
Wow, this was AWESOME! I used 5 cups of strawberries and just about doubled the dough. This fit perfectly in the 2 quart baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Delicious - I used five cups fresh strawberries, omitted the water entirely, decreased the cornstarch to a little over a teaspoon, and only slightly increased the quantity of flour. It fit perfectly in an 8 x 8 inch baking dish. For those who say it's too cakey, they should reduce the baking powder to 1 teaspoon. It makes it more crumbly. With these modifications, the cobbler yielded the perfect consistency. Not soupy at all. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States