Strawberry Cobbler II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I added some more cornstarch to thicken it up and probably took it off the burner too quickly. Still turned out great! Oh, also, I made 1.5 times the dough and dused two pints of strawberries. YUMMY! I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I wish I had read the reviews that said to use more fruit and either use less or omit the water completely. I found the cake-like cobbler topping to be a nice change, and an especially good taste with the brown sugar (even though I used light brown sugar instead of dark). I did add some vanilla to the batter and omitted the extra brown sugar/butter on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
DELICIOUS!! I shortened the amount of water after reading the reviews. OMG, this cobbler was a hit! The only change I made was LESS WATER. I started out with 1/4 cup of water, threw in the sugar, cornstarch and fresh strawberries. I kept the extra water near just in case. After it all came to a boil, I lowered the heat and let it sit stirring occasionally. It thickened up in no time so I threw out the rest of the water. I followed the rest of the recipe and the cobbler was gone within 10 minutes of serving it. My neighbor even took half of it home to share with his family because he loved it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I was in search of a southern strawberry cobbler like the little place up the road made. This one hit the spot!!! This is my new favorite dessert dish. I used a pyrex glass pan to make this dish in. I of course did as others suggested. I used 3 cases of strawberries, which was approx. 6 cups of strawberries. I added a little bit extra sugar because of the extra ammount of strawberries so I say it was probably about 3/4 cup. I added what one reviewer stated, 1 1/2 TBSP of cornstarch, although I will probably add 2 TBSP next time. I did not cook the strawberry mixture and I left out the water as it was perfect the way it was. I did take the 2 TBSP butter and cut off little pieces to place through out the strawberry mixture once in the pan. I thought the dough mixture was just perfect with the ammount though. I baked it for longer which I thought was very helpful! I baked it for about 40 mins. I then made the brown sugar mixture which I added a little bit of cinnamon and vanilla for flavor...just a splash of each. I brushed the brown sugar mixture over top of it all. Then I baked for close to 20 more mins. Any longer and I think it would have burned but it cooked the dough part enough to make it non cake like. Through and through it was excellent and I will be enjoying this recipe for a long long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This is so easy, and it is great with ice cream on top. The topping is not like a regular cobbler. It is a little moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
This was so yummy. We made it in our dutch oven on a camping trip and topped it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. I didn't add the water, as suggested in other reviews and it turned out excellent. Not runny at all. Also, I used 2 cans of strawberry pie filling, instead of the fresh strawberries, sugar and cornstarch. (To make it easier to make while camping). It was really, really yummy and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
Very sweet and delicious! I did not cook the strawberry mixture and I used 1% milk instead of half and half and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This would be less runny if the strawberries weren't cooked first and the water was omitted. Unlike other fruit cobblers, I don't cook strawberries on the stove but simply combine the raw berries with other filling ingredients in a baking dish, top with sweet biscuit dough, and bake. Easier and less pots to wash too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This was a great recipe! Delicious with some vanilla ice cream and whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
not very sweet. the dough tastes like bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States