Strawberry Cobbler II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Very lovely summertime treat... Sweet and sassy, with a very, very yummy filling! Only recommendation: Use way less water! Trust me, you'll be glad you didn't add in all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garliclovespice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I used more strawberries and less water as suggested. There was still way too much topping which was really cake-y and not very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This is why this web site is THE BEST - all of the reviews that help tweak a recipe. Here is what I changed - I did not add water and I did not cook the strawberries. I added sugar and cornstarch to the strawberries and then mixed up the batter. I added vanilla to the batter and I also used light brown sugar instead of dark brown and it still came out great. I skipped the brown sugar topping because I love cakey desserts and thought the topping would take away from it. I baked it for about 30 minutes total, and it was fantastic! It actually reminded me of strawberry shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This was absolutely delicious!! I only used a 1/4 cup of water and it was perfect. It was so easy to make that I made it when I came home from work. My entire family couldn't wait until it was finished the entire house smells terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Well, the flavor of the topping and strawberry mixture was good, however, like others have said, it comes out super watery as written. I would try this again but would def have to make some major adjustments, like upping the amount of strawberries or doubling the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamers9050
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
The only thing I had to change was that I put 3T of cornstarch. I did not read the reviews about using less water until after I made it, so next time I will reduce the water just a little bit. But the 3T of cornstarch did the trick. It came out perfect and tastes fantastic. I also served with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Hit the spot! I added only 1/4 cup water and 1/2 cup extra flour! I also added cinnamon with my flour mixture and vanilla extract! Perfect! will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
The crust was a little cakey for my taste, but the flavor was good. But I'm still on the lookout for the perfect strawberry cobbler recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiecutter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Delicious - I used five cups fresh strawberries, omitted the water entirely, decreased the cornstarch to a little over a teaspoon, and only slightly increased the quantity of flour. It fit perfectly in an 8 x 8 inch baking dish. For those who say it's too cakey, they should reduce the baking powder to 1 teaspoon. It makes it more crumbly. With these modifications, the cobbler yielded the perfect consistency. Not soupy at all. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
It had no taste to it. The topping was o.k. but the strawberries didn't have much taste. I reduced the water like others suggested, but you would think that would give it more flavor. It still was tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States