Strawberry Cobbler II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Very lovely summertime treat... Sweet and sassy, with a very, very yummy filling! Only recommendation: Use way less water! Trust me, you'll be glad you didn't add in all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garliclovespice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I used more strawberries and less water as suggested. There was still way too much topping which was really cake-y and not very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This is why this web site is THE BEST - all of the reviews that help tweak a recipe. Here is what I changed - I did not add water and I did not cook the strawberries. I added sugar and cornstarch to the strawberries and then mixed up the batter. I added vanilla to the batter and I also used light brown sugar instead of dark brown and it still came out great. I skipped the brown sugar topping because I love cakey desserts and thought the topping would take away from it. I baked it for about 30 minutes total, and it was fantastic! It actually reminded me of strawberry shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This was absolutely delicious!! I only used a 1/4 cup of water and it was perfect. It was so easy to make that I made it when I came home from work. My entire family couldn't wait until it was finished the entire house smells terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Well, the flavor of the topping and strawberry mixture was good, however, like others have said, it comes out super watery as written. I would try this again but would def have to make some major adjustments, like upping the amount of strawberries or doubling the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamers9050
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
The only thing I had to change was that I put 3T of cornstarch. I did not read the reviews about using less water until after I made it, so next time I will reduce the water just a little bit. But the 3T of cornstarch did the trick. It came out perfect and tastes fantastic. I also served with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Hit the spot! I added only 1/4 cup water and 1/2 cup extra flour! I also added cinnamon with my flour mixture and vanilla extract! Perfect! will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
The crust was a little cakey for my taste, but the flavor was good. But I'm still on the lookout for the perfect strawberry cobbler recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiecutter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Delicious - I used five cups fresh strawberries, omitted the water entirely, decreased the cornstarch to a little over a teaspoon, and only slightly increased the quantity of flour. It fit perfectly in an 8 x 8 inch baking dish. For those who say it's too cakey, they should reduce the baking powder to 1 teaspoon. It makes it more crumbly. With these modifications, the cobbler yielded the perfect consistency. Not soupy at all. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
It had no taste to it. The topping was o.k. but the strawberries didn't have much taste. I reduced the water like others suggested, but you would think that would give it more flavor. It still was tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States