Strawberry Cobbler II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Well the taste is good but it's sooo runny. I have made it twice and both times I ended up with a strawberry soup. A yummy soup, but not a cobbler! I am not sure what I could have done differently, I even added extra corn starch last time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Season Gardner Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
The topping turned out too cake-like for me. I prefer a cobbler topping to be thin and crispy. The taste was very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
I used fresh strawberries and made the strawberry mixture a day ahead. If you're going to do this, it saves time, but don't add the water. The sugar brings out the juice in the berries and creates its own "soup" as you've seen with strawberry shortcake. It does take longer to cook than the recipe indicates. It cooked for 45 minutes and was still a little under-done. Tasted good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This recipe is "almost the reincarnation" of my Georgia grandmother's strawberry cobbler recipe. She has been gone for almost 30 years and took the secrets of her southern cooking to the grave with her. She never measured anything, and even with my aunts watching over her shoulder, they could not "get it" to pass it along to us. My 77 year old father nearly became misty-eyed when he ate it. Thank's for the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This recipie was easy enough. I used self-rising flour and frozen strawberries instead of what was listed. It made the recipie a little more runny then it should have been. The flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
I wasn't thrilled with this cobbler. I've definitely had better. I didn't care for the brown sugar in the batter and the brown sugar and butter on top. The filling was good, but I would use a different recipe for the batter on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
Oh Wow! This was so good! I even made a few changes to make it low-cal and is was still delicious! I used Splenda sweetener instead of sugar and instead of brown sugar, I used 1/4 cup of Splenda and 1 tbsp of sugar free maple syrup. I did not have any cornstarch on hand so I used t tbsp of flour instead and it came out so yummy. It was a little more brown thatn I liked but I think this was because of the Maple Syrup. A little time consuming (that is the reason for 4 stars and not 5) but worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
A word of caution: I used light brown sugar, rather than dark brown. It can't be substituted. The cobbler became much too sweet, which overwhelmed the strawberry flavor. The strawberries seemed a bit sparce and the sauce too thin, so I would agree with the reviewers urging more strawberries, more cornstarch, and less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MinxyBaby
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
This combination of your basic ingredients was deceptively wonderful. While making it I told my husband I didn't think it would taste very good because there was no spice (like cinnamon) in it, just flour, sugar, and butter... not even lemon! I was getting frustrated because the recipe wasn't specific in the cooking time of the berry sauce and I wasn't sure what consistency it should come out at. My sauce got to a point where it was bubbling, but no longer getting thick. I also wasn't sure exactly what "dot with margarine" meant. I ended up slicing bits of margargine up and dropping on top of the hot berry sauce... that was how I interpreted that term. I thought the batter was going to be the worst, but as my husband says: "the cake is what makes this recipe!" I think the texture of the cake was perfect and I really loved how that brown sugar and maragarine glaze came out. The fresh strawberries had a tonne of flavour, it was amazing! If you are planning on having some cobbbler left over, try not to over thicken the berry sauce... it reheats double as thick (tastes just as good though). In the end, I'd say I don't think there is much you can do to goof this one up. Thanks for this strawberry recipe which is now hubby's favourite cobbler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
I made this recipe for a Potluck...it was gone in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States