Strawberry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Very easy to make and quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I forgot to take a picture but basically it looked just like a few on here. I did not change anything except used 1/4 t. salt instead of 1/2. This was not my kind of cobbler. My aunt used to make a strawberry cobbler that was awesome. This was not it while OK I found the strawberries much too tart, not enough liquid for our liking and the biscuit like topping somewhat hard. It all comes down to preferences. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skunkee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This was really good! I used frozen strawberries that I picked last summer (didn't measure, but more than 3 cups) which I left whole, increased the cornstarch to 3 heaping tablespoons, cut down the sugar and water by 1/2 each and added a little lemon juice. It was syrupy, but boy, did the syrup taste good! The topping was yummy, too! I added a little extra liquid (I used almond milk as that's what I had in the fridge.) Light and fluffy~I used the amounts called for and there was plenty, even with the extra berries. Served with whipped cream, but vanilla ice cream or frozen yogurt would be awesome, too! Can't wait to make this with fresh strawberries next June!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
The taste was good but I had technical difficulties with the recipes itself. Based on other reviews, I decreased the amount of water to 1/2 cup and it was still way to much. Will use 1/4 in the future. Also the dough was too dry as written had to add at least 1/2 cup more heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and used 2 tablespoons of cornstarch instead of 1 and used 1/4 cup of water + 1/4 cup of lemon juice and this was PERFECTION. The topping was absolutely delicious, buttery and the perfect shade of brown. The strawberries were sweet but not overly and paired with vanilla bean ice-cream, it was big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This was great, I would only made a few changes for my preference. I did add a bit more cornstarch because I like my filling thick not runny. I was wondering weather to slice the strawberries or at least cut them in half, but it never said to...I would slice them for sure next time. The biscuit topping was delicious and went well with the fruit. I didn't have heavy cream so i just used 2% milk and they turned out perfect. (without the extra fat and calories) My kids say it needed more sugar, but I think if the strawberries were sliced it would have been a perfect amount. I will be making this again, I might try it with different fruit, (peaches or blueberries)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This cobbler was FABULOUS! I used berries that had been sitting in my fridge for a while and you never would have known! I took the suggestions below and reduced the water so it was thicker and made 50% more cobbler. I put it in a 9x17(?)" pan. Next time I'll add more berries to it. I'm DEFINITELY making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Great recipe, although I made a few changes: 1) 1/3 cup water and 2 tablespoons cornstarch, as mentioned by another reviewer; a full cup of water is unnecessary for doing the initial reduction. 2) 2 tablespoons instead of 1 tablespoon sugar for the breading dough. 3) Fully melt the butter that's added to make the dough. Turned out perfect! UPDATE: On a subsequent try, I found that by adding more cream to the batter so that it wasn't like a tough dough made it easier to spread over the fruit, and it turned out flakier and yummier in the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
OMG.....Fantastic.....followed the recipe pretty much as written....did make a bit more topping per other reviews..served with butter pecan ice cream!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Delicious way to use fresh local strawberries! It was a little soupy/runny, so next time I'll try the suggestions of other reviewers. I patted out the cobbler topping to make a thin crust that covered the whole thing and sprinkled it with sugar before baking. So yummy and can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States