Strawberry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This is a delicious way to use up fresh-picked strawberries. I followed another reviewer's advice and used 1/4 cup lemon juice in place of the water and 2 tbsp cornstarch. Turned out perfect, loved the texture of the topping. The kids loved it served with a little ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I made this just now. Substitutions: 1) 3 T flour instead of cornstarch 2) milk instead of cream 3) 1/4 cup milk, 1/4 cup water for liquid 4) self-rising flour instead of all purpose Results: Taste is good: Not as syruppy-sweet as most cobblers. Texture very good: Cutting liquid was a mistake. No liquid to scoop out and put on top of ice cream. Crust good: I used self rising flour so I didn't use the baking powder. I wish it was a bit sweeter. Next time: double sugar in crust. This recipe is nice because you get a nice balance of sweet and tart. Sugar doesn't overpower everything. I did bake it 6 minutes longer to brown it up. It set nicely and had nice texture throughout. I do wish I had used a full cup of water/milk. I think a cobbler should run just a bit on the plate, not scoop out in one clump. Mine may have set better because I used 3 T flour. Even though, would like to see some more liquid. But for me, the crust on a cobbler is what makes it or breaks it. This one is a little shortcake-ish, more so than the rise-to-the-top type, which is usually tender and flaky. Overall good. Next time I would: Use the full cup liquid...1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup milk. Use 3.5 T flour instead of cornstarch. Double the sugar in the crust to 2 T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
The best cobbler i ever had...just add less water more baking powder and more strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mya2012

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Plainview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Very easy to make and quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I forgot to take a picture but basically it looked just like a few on here. I did not change anything except used 1/4 t. salt instead of 1/2. This was not my kind of cobbler. My aunt used to make a strawberry cobbler that was awesome. This was not it while OK I found the strawberries much too tart, not enough liquid for our liking and the biscuit like topping somewhat hard. It all comes down to preferences. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skunkee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This was really good! I used frozen strawberries that I picked last summer (didn't measure, but more than 3 cups) which I left whole, increased the cornstarch to 3 heaping tablespoons, cut down the sugar and water by 1/2 each and added a little lemon juice. It was syrupy, but boy, did the syrup taste good! The topping was yummy, too! I added a little extra liquid (I used almond milk as that's what I had in the fridge.) Light and fluffy~I used the amounts called for and there was plenty, even with the extra berries. Served with whipped cream, but vanilla ice cream or frozen yogurt would be awesome, too! Can't wait to make this with fresh strawberries next June!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
The taste was good but I had technical difficulties with the recipes itself. Based on other reviews, I decreased the amount of water to 1/2 cup and it was still way to much. Will use 1/4 in the future. Also the dough was too dry as written had to add at least 1/2 cup more heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and used 2 tablespoons of cornstarch instead of 1 and used 1/4 cup of water + 1/4 cup of lemon juice and this was PERFECTION. The topping was absolutely delicious, buttery and the perfect shade of brown. The strawberries were sweet but not overly and paired with vanilla bean ice-cream, it was big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This was great, I would only made a few changes for my preference. I did add a bit more cornstarch because I like my filling thick not runny. I was wondering weather to slice the strawberries or at least cut them in half, but it never said to...I would slice them for sure next time. The biscuit topping was delicious and went well with the fruit. I didn't have heavy cream so i just used 2% milk and they turned out perfect. (without the extra fat and calories) My kids say it needed more sugar, but I think if the strawberries were sliced it would have been a perfect amount. I will be making this again, I might try it with different fruit, (peaches or blueberries)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This cobbler was FABULOUS! I used berries that had been sitting in my fridge for a while and you never would have known! I took the suggestions below and reduced the water so it was thicker and made 50% more cobbler. I put it in a 9x17(?)" pan. Next time I'll add more berries to it. I'm DEFINITELY making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States