Strawberry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I doubles the bread and added a little lemon juice. Served with ice cream. Best dessert we have had in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
This was delicious -- I was planning to make strawberry shortcake, and found this recipe instead. I loved the juiciness of it -- topped with homemade whipped cream, it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
delicious! with a couple mods of course. barely needed any water, splashed in some lemon juice. seems like you can use as many strawberries as you want for this recipe. doubled the bread topping, upped the sugar a bit because the dough was not sweet in the least and i wanted it to be a little more sweet. drizzled some honey on top of the dough. then baked for 45 minutes at 375. perfect with some vanilla ice cream & whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This got us four servings. Absolutely delicious---everyone loved it! The syrup tasted like strawberry jam, and the dough was heavenly. It was a tad crumbly with the amount of whipping cream, so I added just a tad more. Then I put bits of the dough on top and cooked for a few minutes. when it was soft I spread it even with a spatula. absolutely heavenly. The perfect mixture of dough sweetness and fruit. Mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
So yummy! Tastes like biscuits with strawberry jelly. Very good and comforting on a cold night. Delicious with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. I cut the water down by half and added the juice from half a lemon. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Way too much juice cooked out of the berries, but this was OK out of the oven, served warm. The next day, it was a soggy mess, and the topping turned gooey (like raw dough). Has the taste of old-fashioned biscuit strawberry shortcake, but I think I'll just stick with making my shortcakes and serving sliced berries on top. Not bad, not great, and not good on day 2, unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
You don't typically think of making cobbler with strawberries, but this is a really nice recipe to do just that. I was looking for something simple to try out some freeze-dried strawberries I bought, and this recipe was perfect. I've made it twice. The only thing I did differently was to rehydrate the strawberries first, and I used the excess liquid I drained off to make the glaze/sauce to which the strawberries are added. Simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This was decent but didn't blow my socks off. I used the "most helpful" review that said to sub lemon juice for the water and add more cornstarch - I do agree with that. Perhaps my strawberries just needed to be sweeter - it's not peak season so maybe it would be better in the summer when they have more flavor. I was impressed with the cobbler portion itself - it was buttery and very yummy. I'll give this another shot this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I cut the berries in half b/c they were so huge (fresh from the field in Plant City). Used Splenda in the sauce and about 5 c. of berries. I was afraid that I didn't have enough dough to cover, but it raised up really nicely to cover the berries. Very good! A nice change from shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This is so good! Vanilla bean ice cream on top makes it perfect. I made the recipe as written, but really you could substitute just about any fresh fruit and it would be just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Stoddard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Deer Lodge, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States