Strawberry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
OMG! My family went wild over this. I did adhere to some of the reviewers and only added 1/2 of the water. I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
After reading reviews, I used 4 cups whole strawberries (homegrown, smaller in size than grocery cartons), and 1/2 cup of water. After putting the strawberry mixture in the buttered pan, I sprinkled lightly with cinnamon. I had to add more cream to the topping, but that could have been variation in the flour. It turned out golden brown and tasted fantastic! As a long time cobbler lover, it was excellent, and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Excellent, save for a little too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I love the cobbler, topping has a nice crunch to it. I will be using less water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Fantastic! I filled my deep dish 9x13 with fresh picked berries (didn't measure but it was probable close to 8 c. or so), then made up the sauce using 1 c. lemon juice, a scant c. of sugar, and 2 T. arrowroot to thicken and mixed it with the berries right in the baking dish. Topped with my homemade whole wheat sourdough scones dough and baked as directed. With a dollop of home-churned vanilla bean ice cream, this dish made me the Susie Homemaker queen of the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Delicous! I will make again with more berries and less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea_333

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Very easy and came out well. I probably used more strawberries than were called for it, but it was because I didn't feel like measuring (and I love strawberries). I also used frozen strawberries because I wasn't sure when I'd be able to make it, and fresh strawberries turn quickly in my region this time of year. I took advice from another review and only used 1/2 cup of water; at first I used the full cup, but it was so watery that I decided to cut down and try again. I found that there was just enough liquid/juice - it was perfect. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTYBRAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I use the crust for peach cobbler, as I don't eat strawberry cobbler. Howevr, the crust needs some tweaking. I decrease the baking powder by half so that it is not so thick. I also add an extra tablespoon of sugar, cook for 30-35 minutes to insure doneness, and rub top of crust with butter and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar during last 5 minutes of baking. This helps with the texture of the biscuit, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantae B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I really like the biscuit topping and have used it for other cobblers, as well. I think something is a bit off in the strawberry filling. Its a bit too sweet, and there's probably more liquid than necessary. I'd probably cut the sugar down to 2 tbsp, and the cornstarch and water by half (or maybe even a third) next time. The strawberries are going to release liquid, anyway. Still, its a solid start and doesn't taste bad, especially when still warm. This recipe does not hold up well in the refrigerator for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States