Strawberry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I was surprised that this was so good. My 11yo son said it was the best dessert he had ever had. I served it with vanilla ice cream. I mostly made it according to directions. I doubled the cornstarch and let the glaze get very thick, it is very juicy which was perfect with the ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I was looking for a recipe to use some frozen strawberries and am I EVER glad I picked this one...I changed it to 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup water and 2 T cornstarch for the strawberries and 2 T sugar and half and half (all I had on hand) for the biscuit part...the strawberry part was NOT runny but set perfectly... and the biscuit was not to sweet but not bland at all...I cooked at 375 for 45 minutes...all I can say is PERFECTO...add a small scoop of vanilla ice cream and you're in heaven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Very easy and yummy! I used whole wheat flour and a touch more milk. My advice would be to use a 2-quart dish that is deep rather than long, otherwise the topping seems a bit skimpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Let me start by saying that Im pregnant so whenever I start craving a particular food, I just search for a recipe with that ingredient. How lucky I was to find this one in the strawberry section! The only thing I did different was used 4 c. strawberries instead of 3 because I had 2 bags of frozen berries and I didnt want to waste any, and I doubled the crust to accomodate a 2 1/2 quart dish and substituted Splenda for sugar. Other than that, followed the reciped and OH MY GOODNESS! I think I died and went to pregnant lady food heaven. I just made it, it is still bubbling hot and I sampled it and am now writing the review. My fiance just came up and asked if we could just share it out of the dish with 2 forks. He must have sampled it after I walked away from it! Yumm-O! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New York, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luv2Bake65
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME!! I did decrease the water to 1/2 cup, but that is all the changes I made. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR POSTING THIS!!! I had never heard of strawberry cobbler up until about 10 years ago when a lady I knew made it and I have never had it since. And....WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Bake65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
mmmmm This is really goood. I have to stop myself from devouring the whole thing. Definitely use ripe strawberries and try it with double cornstarch and half the water like what the other reviewers said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This was great! I used a 9X13 (3QT) dish. I trippled the topping and doubled the berries and syrup part. I also used 1/2 cup of lemon juice instead of water. Had to cook atleast 45 minutes. Was great! Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayme C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I read the other reviews and decided to try this recipe with a few additions. I doubled the topping...next time I will add a little more heavy cream to make the dough a little softer. I doubled the cornstarch and kept the water the same and I used about 8 cups of strawberries. Here is what I learned: 1 this recipe only needs about 1/4 cup of water, 2 tbsp cornstarch, same amount of sugar...NOT cooked. Mix it cold and coat the strawberries. This will allow for the cornstarch mixture to thicken with the extra juice from the berries decreasing the "runny liquid". Also I increased the cooking time to about 45 minutes to allow the dough to cook all the way through. I added some Rodelle Vanilla to the dough. The topping was very good and the strawberry part was good as well. I will make this again, however will use the following: 1/4 cup lemon juice instead of water, will not cook the cornstarch/sugar/lemon juice mix. Thank you for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonysgdbg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChrysintheKitchen
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I have made this twice, the first time using a couple of suggestions by other members, such as doubling the cornstarch. I also replaced 1/4 of the water with the juice from a freshly squeezed lemon. The second time, rather than using fresh strawberries, I used frozen strawberries, raspberries, björnberries, and blueberries to make a berry cobbler. I defrosted the berries first and used 1/4 cup of bottled lime juice instead of lemon that I used previously. I also replaced some of the white flour for spelt flour to make it SLIGHTLY healthier. It did not detract from the taste at all. Thinking about it, I may make it again tonight! A note about cooking times, I didn't keep it in the oven the whole time. Make sure that the dough is evenly spread at the top, not too thick in any one place, and wait for it to turn a nice golden brown. Should be ready by then as you should see the bubbling of the berry mixture through the dough and around the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
This was not to our liking. It was way too runny and the topping was crunchy on top and doughy on the bottom. I think if I made this again, I would use twice as much cornstarch to thicken, alot more sugar in dough, and cook on lower temp for 30 min. Sorry, I just had expected alot more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States