Strawberry Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
You know I always look through all the reviews of any recipe I try here but have never written one, however, this cheesecake is so good I've decided to break my silence. I found this recipe about a year ago and my friends and family honestly cannot get enough of it. I make very few minor changes - I cut down the cream cheese from 3 packages to 2, increase the amount of gram crackers to 2 cups and add 2 teaspoons of cinnamon to the crust. I use low fat everything and no one can tell the difference. Lastly, I would also suggest baking this in a water bath, I've always done so and have never had a problem with the cheesecake cracking (though I am also very careful not to over mix). So that's it, that's my review! I would absolutely, positively, 100% recommend trying this recipe... you won't be disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
411 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Good cheesecake, very easy to make, just don't overwhip or you get the cracking. I found out the hard way =( Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This cheesecake was amazing! I took it to a birthday party the first time I ever baked it and it was a smash hit. It serves 8, there were only 6 of us there and the cheesecake was all gone in less than 3 minutes. I only added 2 packages of cream cheese and I added some vanilla. The taste and texture were perfect and better than any restaurant I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Thanks to this recipe, I became as the " cheesecake expert " in my little town. Everyone DEMANDS for this cheesecake, everytime we have dinner, a potluck or a party! It's so easy to make ( after the 2nd or 3rd time ), because you tend to get used to the steps that are necessary to make it just like a cheesecake that is bought at gourmet bakeries. This cheesecake is extremely beautiful and it has a very smooth, wonderful texture. I have always sworn by the water bath method though, when making cheesecakes, bc it gives it that smooth, creamy texture, without browning the top. The best way to achieve this is put very hot water into a metal bowl, then place the spring pan carefully ( while wrapped in foil at the sides ) in the metal bowl. I bake it at the required temperature for only 30 mins and leave it overnight in the oven, to set. In the morning, I see the sides of the cheesecake separating from the spring pan, so it's easier and prettier to spring out. I also learned that overbeating the cheesecake creates cracks. DO NOT OVERBEAT! You can avoid this by making sure that the cream cheese is at room temperature. Also, once you put the eggs in, you can forego the electric mixer and mix by hand for a few seconds, so bubbles won't appear. You will end up with a very smooth finish and a creamy cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vida St. John

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
WOW! This is a wonderful recipe. The only change I made was using fresh strawberries instead. A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This is a seriously tasty cheesecake!!! I just added 1 tbs. of vanilla extract to the cheesecake base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Very good recipe and it was quite easy to make!!!! I actually omitted the butter and the sugar because I had bought 2 graham cracker pie shells and divided the recipe between the two. I put the 1 T of water into my pot that I used to boil the strawberries (so the bottom would not burn)and it turned out GREAT! The family enjoyed it and I am headed to the store to pick up more ingredients to do a few more for some friends. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jane Ashley
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
It was beautiful! And very tasty! I made it for a gathering at home and everyone loved it! My hubby is a huge fan of cheesecake and is very picky as well and he loved it!!! My brother in law too! (He asked which bakery did I buy it from ;p) I'm so impressed. This is my 1st cheesecake and it came out so good. I followed the recipe except I cut down the cream cheese to 2 packages, added vanilla in both cheese mixture and base. Used unsweetened strawberries and added sugar myself so that I have a control of the sweetness (I don't want it to be too sweet). The lemon juice was great! I added some in the strawberry mixture and of course the cheese mixture too. I can't say enough good things about this recipe! If you're a cheesecake lover, don't miss it!!! Highly recommended ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by TampaQT
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This was fantastic! It wasn't too rich, and the strawberry flavor was just right. I made this for a Valentine's Day dessert and dropped a little sauce in circles around the edges and then ran a toothpick through them to make them look like hearts. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by treatdream
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This recipe was very easy and tasted great. I didn't have time to chill for the full recommended amount of time. It was only in the fridge for about 4 hrs. and it was a tad bit soft in the middle but everyone liked it that way and it really wasn't a big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by treatdream

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States