Strawberry Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Ok, so this was my first cheesecake, the family circled the kitchen like vultures waiting for it to be finished. My only problem was the crust was too oily, I am not sure what went wrong, but the filling is tasty and the fruit sauce was really good. The only thing I did different was to put it in a water bath because of fear of the dreaded cracking. Generally, I would make again with some tweeks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sprinkles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingstown, Saint George Parish, Saint Vincent And The Grenadines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Very tasty cheesecake! I have made several cheesecakes before, but this is my first using strawberries. After reading several reviews, I increased the amount of graham crumbs to 2 cups, but my crust kept on breaking and crumbling apart even after adding more butter. Next time I would only use about 1 1/2 cups. I also only used 2 packages cream cheese, but for me it didn't have enough creamy cheese flavor. I would use a little bit less sweetened condensed milk, since it was a tad too sweet for me with the strawberry sauce. I baked it at 275 degrees farenheit in a water bath for about an hour, turned off the heat, and left the cake in the oven for another hour. No cracks, perfect texture and display. I used fresh strawberries and it was no problem! Would definately make this again with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This is indeed one of the best cheesecakes I've ever made, and I've made a lot of them. I rarely use graham cracker crust and didn't on this either. I like to use Vanilla Wafers and sliced almonds for my cheesecake crust (depending on the flavor). I also used fresh strawberries to make the sauce and omitted the condensed milk...I think that would have been too sweet. However, I melted some white chocolate and poured that in the batter. I baked in a water bath and got no cracking at all. It came out beautifully and my friends were in heaven!!! I made chocolate covered strawberries for decoration and wow!!! i will surely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Did it with 2 blocks of cheese as per reviews. Was pretty tasty but found the crust way too crumbly and the cake itself to be a bit runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This was really good and fun to make!!! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Very good!!! Tasted better than the store bought ones!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queen
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
The cheesecake is wonderful, but you definitely do not need to make extra sauce for serving with the cheesecake. It's fine all on it's own. For that reason, you 1 container of strawberries is more than enough. When I make again, I will only prepare enough sauce for the 1/3 of a cup needed for the cheesecake itself. The cheesecake does not need any more sauce than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This will be my go-to cheesecake recipe! I made it in a heart-shape for valentines day, and my husband said it was the best cheesecake he's ever had (and he's had a lot of cheesecakes) I did make some changes as recommended by other reviewers -- cinnamon in the crust (a must), vanilla with the cream cheese, a little less lemon juice (I couldn't taste it at all), and 2 packs instead of 3 of cream cheese. I microwaved the cream cheese a bit before beating it so I wouldn't need to overbeat it (I had no issues with cracking) The only thing was when I beat all of the ingredients together, it was SUPER runny, which concerned me. I cooked for 45 minutes but it wasn't even close to being done, so I keep cooking it longer and checking. I think I ended up cooking it for an additional 35-40 minutes (and I turned up the temp to 330F) I tested it by inserting a toothpick and when it was still a little sticky in the centre (and the sides were puffing up and pulling away from the sides of pan), I stopped cooking (but still wasn't sure if it would turn out). It did turn out, fantastically. The perfect density, not too rich, full of flavour. The key is letting it cool in the fridge. I prefer it without the extra strawberry sauce, but that part is tasty (would be delicious on vanilla ice cream!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
All I can say is Fantabulous! I did as other and baked in a waterbath. My cheesecake did not crack or burn on the top....hghly recommended and better than Cheesecake Factory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Barrenger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Essex Junction, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States