Strawberry Cheesecake French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
We liked this recipe, but I wasn't as overwhelmed as I thought I would be. I also had leftover milk/egg mixture and cream cheese filling. Made some extra toasts, then scrambled eggs. The filling oozed out and made it not look too pretty. My strawberry sauce didn't thicken much--I would bring to full boil next time. I used our whole wheat bread that we always have. I am sure I could tweak this and with some practice it would be awesome, but we just don't eat unhealthy all that often. I made this to use up a bulk of strawberries from our garden, and it did the trick. Thanks for submitting! Oh, I originally forgot the confection's sugar--it really made a difference (improvement) when I added. I left off whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This was delicious! I made these for my daughter's 30th Bday breakfast and everyone loved them. After reading comments from others I decided to use powdered sugar (1/2c) with the lowfat version of crm cheese so it wasn't gritty. I used 1.5T & 3/4 c water to thicken the strawberry glaze and used French bread. I used a few less egg yolks and added more egg whites to reduce the cholesterol. Had enough egg/milk mixture left over to make several slices of traditional French toast. This will definitely remain in my recipe box! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I cut back a little on the sugar in the cream cheese filling and used fresh sour dough bread, and boy was it good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
made this for a special brunch and the entire family went crazy! It was an amazing flavor combination. going to try it with real french bread next time for a super special treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Made this for company. Thought it might be too icky sweet, but it was not. Fabulous recipe and pretty, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This is my new favorite french toast. I made small changes...I used 1/2 cup of sugar in the cream cheese mixture which made it pefectly in the sweetness factor. I also used french bread, but there was so much cream cheese that I ended up needing 12 slices. I also had an opened can of blueberry pie filling and it just made the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I made this for my kids on Valentine's Day. It was AMAZING! They all said it was the best french toast they'd ever had. I completely agree. I made it exactly the way it was written. I wouldn't change a thing! I will be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Awesome! Made a few changes: confectioner's sugar instead of regular sugar for mixing w/ the cream cheese (light); bananas and pancake syrup on top instead of strawberries. I used Martin's whole wheat potato bread-fiber and protein! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvlifefun1130

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsWhittleberry
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I tried this recipe and it came out great. I ended up using challah bread and it worked perfectly and turned out to be the best french toast i have ever made and also the i have ever tasted. This all cooks pretty fast if you prep stuff the night before. You can also try using banana's on top instead of strawberries. I also dusted the top with cinnamon in addition to the powdered sugar. Whittleberry Out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Geist
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Oh good Lord. YUM. That's about all I can say. I had cream cheese stuffed french toast once in my life at IHOP, and this recipe is right on par with it. This is so simple to prepare and cook, and it looks very elegant when it's all put together. Like a lot of people said, this french toast is very filling and one little triangle of this will probably do the trick to fill you up, especially if you serve it with coffee, juice, or fresh berries on the side. I thought I would add this note: To cut a few calories, you can also just spread light cream cheese or Neufchatel cheese between the slices of bread instead of mixing in the sugar/vanilla mixture, and instead of putting butter in the pan to brown the toast, use a no calorie PAM spray and leave out topping your toast with whipped cream. Absolutely wonderful recipe. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Geist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mason, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States