Strawberry Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I loved this recipe. Instead of using the crust that the recipe called for I made a shortbread cookie crust. With the shortbread cookie crust this pie tasted just like strawberry shortcake. I cut the strawberries in half and then covered the pie with them in a circular pattern and then brushed on the currant jelly. I am not sure if my strawberries were too watery or if I used too much jelly, but the top was kind of watery (which didn't stop my family from eating the whole thing!!!). Next time I think I might either slice the strawberries thinly and use less jelly or just do a circle of strawberries around the edge. I also garnished the top of the pie with some more chopped almonds so people would know what to expect! DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
This is such an excellent recipe! I varied it by using the Cream Cheese Tart Shells recipe from this site and made mini tart shells in a 12-cup muffin pan, baked them, then filled with this mixture and added berries sweetened with sugar on top. They were a HUGE hit and very easy to put together and a great summer dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I served this pie for Father's Day and it was a huge hit. I substituted with homemade graham cracker crust, Cool Whip, & seedless strawberry jam. Omitted the chopped almonds, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
This pie turned out very well, but it lacked the wow factor I was looking for. I used the graham cracker crust, which worked very nicely. I also enjoyed the hint of almond in the cheese filling, although in my opinion, for amount of fat in this pie it is not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABALONE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kidron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Excellent flavor, everyone loved it! I'm not crazy about this crust, so I made my own pie crust recipe. I have also made this pie in a a store bought Nilla wafer crust...loved it either way. I will keep this one on hand for a quick summer dessert recipe when I need one in a pinch. It was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowdoin, Maine, USA
Living In: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Came back to edit this. Wanted to add I've made this over and over, it's really a hit anywhere I take it. Wanted to add my easy way of chopping the almonds. Stick 'em in a bag and use the side of your meat tenderizer to "chop" them. Then, no cutting but still small almonds! :) Try this recipe, you won't be disappointed. DEFINITELY add the almond extract and some almonds, it makes the pie!! There is just one thing to say - WOW! WOW! We were SO impressed with this we've made it again and again! I too, cheated and used the graham cracker crust - the filling was quick, easy and most of all, DELICIOUS!! I used extra strawberries when serving this, they give this just the perfect combo in the mouth. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
My mother loved this so much she had me make one just for her to take home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
used a nilla wafer store bought crust, pie was great, very easy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
Wow! This pie is fabulous!!! I have brought this pie to a couple of parties, and evryone LOVES it! I've had many people ask for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
This pie is delicious! I cheated by using a store bought graham crust, which I like more than regular pie crusts anyway. I love the almond flavor in the filling-mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States