Strawberry Chantilly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Tastes a bit like ice cream. I didn't think it was very sweet at all since it's so light and not decadent. I've never tasted a strawberry chantilly before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I didn't have heavy cream either, so I used Cool Whip, too. Came out great! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Amazing! I used cool whip in place of heavy cream & threw in some crushed graham crackers in the crust in place of walnuts (didn't have any!) turned out divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnsmith

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I was not impressed by this. It had the taste and texture of freeze dried strawberry ice cream. I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Light summer dessert -- like strawberry ice cream pie! The sugars are a little confusing -- I believe the brown sugar goes with the crust, and the white sugar with the strawberries. We substituted oats for walnuts (very tasty), and soy whipped topping. If you're worried about raw egg whites, you can pasteurize your eggs by putting them in 140-150 degree hot water for 4 minutes. This keeps in the freezer for several weeks, making it great for if you want to make a dessert ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
USED BLACK BERRIES..WASNT THRILLED. TOO SWEET AND DIDNT LIKE TECTURE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I got a lot of compliments on this recipe. The recipe is confusing as written because it doesn't indicate whether you're supposed to use the white sugar or the brown sugar at particular points in the recipe. So when I made it, I used white sugar both times and 2/3 a cup both times. I used thawed frozen strawberries and added some of the leftover juice to the strawberry mixture and I suppose this is why my strawberry mixture didn't expand as much as other people's seemed to. I had to add some cream of tartar to help stabilize and give my strawberry mixture some volume. I also used almonds instead of walnuts because I'm not a walnut fan and almonds seemed to go better with it. Next time I make this, I would double the crumb mixture to make a more substantial crust in the bottom of the pan. The crumbs sprinkled over top were nice and crispy despite the lack of baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptMicha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brookeville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I took this for a potluck at work. Everyone loved it. My only complaint is that it MUST be kept very cold otherwise it turns runny...perhaps a touch of unflavored gelatin might help? Very light and refreshing. I used almonds instead of walnuts, just a personal preference. I was a little disappointed that the crust did stick to the pan despite the use of Pam. Will most likely make this again but with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wa53rose
Home Town: Cathlamet, Washington, USA
Living In: Kalama, Washington, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Everyone really enjoyed this! It is very easy and fun to make and you end up with a refreshing, light, pretty dessert. I used my Kitchen Aid and at the 9 minute mark, it was almost coming over the top of the bowl. I was a little worried that it wasn't going to fit in the pan. Once the whipped cream is folded in, it is the perfect amount. It may be a little difficult to cut immediately out of the freezer. I decided to let it sit for about 10 min on the counter and it was perfect for us. This will be a repeat here. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
We really enjoyed this fresh, light and creamy dessert! Only to save calories as well as carbs, I skipped the crust entirely, which I'm sure, given the rest of the recipe, is delicious. But Hubs and I DO like our desserts on a regular basis so I try to be careful on occasion where I can. I used frozen, thawed strawberries and Splenda instead of sugar. This was a delicious, nutritious and guilt-free strawberry mousse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States