Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2003
one of the best Strawberry cakes I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
I made this cake today and took it to work. What an AWESOME cake! I had some strawberries that I had to use up and am I ever glad I checked here first! I did make it in a 13x9 inch pan instead of the double layer. Baked it for 45 minutes (glass). Then made a "fluff" topping made of 1/2 cool whip and 1/2 cream cheese. I whipped these together till smooth and then stirred in about a cup of finely chopped strawberries. Did I ever get the rave reviews. Each person actually took a piece of cake and then spooned the "fluff" over that. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
ver good. it doesn't even need the frosting or whipped cream! That fresh strawberry cake is delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
This cake was moist and delicious. I frosted it with cream cheese icing and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
This cake was incredibly delicous and moist! I came across this recipe after my son asked for a strawberry birthday cake. I used the two layers of cake to form Patrick the Starfish from SpongeBob Squarepants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
I have a six yr old boy and he is allergic to soy. He had been asking for a strawberry cake and I have searched HIGH and LOW for one. You can NOT begin to imagine how GLAD I was when I saw THIS recipe! IT WAS GREAT!!!!! Wish there were more stars available to give you!! THANK YOU EVER SO MUCH FOR SUBMITTING IT!!! By the way, I made cupcakes too. BOTH turned out WONDERFUL! VERY TASTY, MOIST, AND FULL OF FLAVOR!! Again, THANK you so very much for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
I made this cake and iced it with cream cheese icing, it was moist and delicious! A very easy cake to make, this will be one of my regulars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
I would use fresh strawberries instead of the frozen kind. Otherwise a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Washington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
This is one of the best strawberry cakes that I have ever tasted...soft and moist. I added this to my cookbook right after I took my first bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
This is a great cake. Again, I made some changes and it tasted even better. I used 1 tsp of vanilla and 1 tsp of almond flavorings added to the puree. I used unbleached flour and cut it to 2 1/2 cups. It made the cake lighter. The crust on this cake is unbelieveable. Used almond flavoring for the icing. Try it you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 667) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States