Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Good recipe. I did changed a couple of minor things. I used sour cream instead of milk and added a teaspoon of baking soda. I also made a strawberry puree, but I cooked my fresh strawberries and made a syrup then pureed them. When the puree cooled it was like strawberry preserves. Put that in between my layers and also in the cake and the cream cheese icing. I also used cake flour and lined my pans with parchment paper. OMG, what a cake. We put most of it in the freezer so we wouldn't eat all of it. It freezes well. Thanks for the scratch recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I made this for my husband as a late birthday cake, OMG!!!!! This cake is amazing!!! It's rich almost like a pound cake which is what won me over! Love the jello packet idea! I figure you can do this with any flavor jello! Hubby says, "No more boxed strawberry cake for me!" I've created a monster! Lol!!! Thanks for sharing!??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Made these into cupcakes (24 big ones). Followed the recipe to a T except for separating eggs, beating whites, and folding in at the end. The result, a divine, fluffy, delicious cupcake topped with cream cheese icing and a chocolate dipped strawberry. So ridiculously good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBHOLT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Awesome...tasty,easy...no leftovers. : D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I made this cake yesterday. I think I added too much sugar. Otherwise I frosted it with CoolWhip and put it in the refrigerator to get cold. And it was AWESOME! Next time I won't put so much sugar in my strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I made this recipe for Mother's Day, and it was a hit! Members of the family who usually do not eat fruit absolutely loved it. I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out perfect. I used vanilla buttercream frosting in between layers, and on the outside. This made it that much better, with no cake left! I would certainly recommend this recipe to anyone looking for a fun and delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace Anthony

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Baked as directed for Mother's Day surprise, and strawberry cake recipe came out perfect. Excellent texture, flavorful, and moist. I ended up having to make another after the first on went so fast. Tried with buttercream, and white frostings, both were great. Thanks in bunches. Happy Mother's Day to all you wonderful mother's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
The original cake was a bit dense. here is what helped the 2nd time i made it. 1. Use 1/2 c butter, 1/2 c butter flavored crisco instead of 1 c butter. 2. use cake flour, and use sifted flour for your measurement. (if you don't have cake flour remove 2 Tbps flour per cup and replace with 2 Tbps cornstarch) 3. beat the egg whites until peaks then fold into the batter. With the changes, it was a 5 star recipe for me. but the original i give 4. good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I made this cake today to use up some strawberries that I had. I didn't have whole milk so I made some butter milk to use instead. I then realized I didn't have any strawberry jello powder so I used raspberry instead. I cut the sugar to 1 3/4 cups but kept everything else the same. I read almost all of the reviews and was a little hesitant to try it but what the heck, let's go for it. Well, I decided to bake it in a bundt pan and baked it for 50 mins. It rose beautifully and smelled awesome. After removing from the pan when cool, this was easy too, I mixed some of the puree with some cream cheese and icing sugar. It turned out great, beautiful colour and texture, not dense at all. I did make sure to thoroughly cream the butter, sugar and jello powder so it wouldn't be grainy. I didn't separate the eggs either, just added when called for. I used my immersion blender to create the puree. Didn't bother putting it through the strainer. Worked great. I've added some pics if anyone is interested in seeing how it came out. I doubt it is going to last long. Everyone loves it.!!!! For those of you who thought it tasted artificial, I recommend not to use sugar free jello, it has chemical sweetners in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 747) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States