Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Awesome...tasty,easy...no leftovers. : D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I made this cake yesterday. I think I added too much sugar. Otherwise I frosted it with CoolWhip and put it in the refrigerator to get cold. And it was AWESOME! Next time I won't put so much sugar in my strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I made this recipe for Mother's Day, and it was a hit! Members of the family who usually do not eat fruit absolutely loved it. I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out perfect. I used vanilla buttercream frosting in between layers, and on the outside. This made it that much better, with no cake left! I would certainly recommend this recipe to anyone looking for a fun and delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace Anthony

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Baked as directed for Mother's Day surprise, and strawberry cake recipe came out perfect. Excellent texture, flavorful, and moist. I ended up having to make another after the first on went so fast. Tried with buttercream, and white frostings, both were great. Thanks in bunches. Happy Mother's Day to all you wonderful mother's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
The original cake was a bit dense. here is what helped the 2nd time i made it. 1. Use 1/2 c butter, 1/2 c butter flavored crisco instead of 1 c butter. 2. use cake flour, and use sifted flour for your measurement. (if you don't have cake flour remove 2 Tbps flour per cup and replace with 2 Tbps cornstarch) 3. beat the egg whites until peaks then fold into the batter. With the changes, it was a 5 star recipe for me. but the original i give 4. good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I made this cake today to use up some strawberries that I had. I didn't have whole milk so I made some butter milk to use instead. I then realized I didn't have any strawberry jello powder so I used raspberry instead. I cut the sugar to 1 3/4 cups but kept everything else the same. I read almost all of the reviews and was a little hesitant to try it but what the heck, let's go for it. Well, I decided to bake it in a bundt pan and baked it for 50 mins. It rose beautifully and smelled awesome. After removing from the pan when cool, this was easy too, I mixed some of the puree with some cream cheese and icing sugar. It turned out great, beautiful colour and texture, not dense at all. I did make sure to thoroughly cream the butter, sugar and jello powder so it wouldn't be grainy. I didn't separate the eggs either, just added when called for. I used my immersion blender to create the puree. Didn't bother putting it through the strainer. Worked great. I've added some pics if anyone is interested in seeing how it came out. I doubt it is going to last long. Everyone loves it.!!!! For those of you who thought it tasted artificial, I recommend not to use sugar free jello, it has chemical sweetners in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I have never made a cake from scratch before and I have been baking for a long time. This cake has several steps and does take time. I strongly urge 1)check to be sure your baking powder is still active; 2)separating the eggs is the best way to add them--I separated the eggs and beat the yolks before adding; 3)fresh strawberry is great--I used 6 big ones and 1 TBSP of sugar in my food processor. I think the next time (and there will be a next time), I'll cut back the flour to 2 1/4 c. I also think I'll use real strawberries using my food processor. I didn't think the flavor was strawberry enough and don't want to buy strawberry extract (but will consider it). The cake was good but a little denser than I expected but received the A-OK from husband so it must be good since he isn't a real big cake eater. Also I read the reviews and someone suggested to freeze the cake before frosting and it was far and above better than Pam (LOL)! I will make this again with fresh baking powder. I am very pleased with my efforts and the result was better than I expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Beatty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This cake was incredible!! Followed the advice of others. I seperated the egg whites and yolks. Whipped the whites into soft peaks and folded them in. Also, I sifted the flour and then after sifting measured it again. I spread some strawberry puree in between the two cake layers along with icing and it was very moist! I do not bake a lot and this cake turned out great. Everyone was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I don't even have to sifted the flour or separate eggs. It come out very light, fluffy and moist. Oh I change from whole milk to butter cream because I don't have whole milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 734) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States