Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
What a delicious cake! Mine turned out too dense because I didn't realize you HAD to make it in multiple layers, and I just wanted a single sheet cake. I did sift the cake flour before measuring, and I followed the other instructions exactly, so the type and number of cake pans seem to really make or break this in terms of texture. However, the taste was simply heavenly! Nobody cared that it was dense - the flavor was unbeatable! I'll be saving this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Made this as a birthday cake from my sister. Everyone thought I was bringing the normal yellow cake with a layer of gross slimy strawberries in the middle. What a hit! My uncle who doesn't like cake ate a whole piece... the waitress we gave a slice to came out of the kitchen because she "just had to kiss me" because it was so good! Very moist and fluffy! Great recipe! (I added almond extract to my buttercream frosting and that was a nice touch!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
YUM! Seems no one has tried cupcakes, so I did! Not a "big-rising" batter, so... using a rounded quarter cup of batter per cupcake yields 32 LEVEL cupcakes. If you want a rounded cupcake, fill baking cups to about 1/4" from top. (Will probably yield about 26-28). Bake 350 for 18-21 minutes, until toothpick comes out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I have made this cake twice and it has turned out great both times! The second time around, my daughter wanted a raspberry cake for her birthday so I substituted raspberry gelatin and puree. She was pleased and so were our guests. Next year she wants blueberry so I think I'll try that, too!In regard to the density issues other reviewers have noted, either sift your flour first or just fluff it up before lightly scooping out. Basic cream cheese icing and seedless jam between the layers finish it off well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Four stars instead of five, because while it was fabulous, I used puree made from unsweetened strawberries I had frozen from last year's surplus, and the cake was perfectly sweet. I'm afraid sweetened puree would have sent it over the top. Pressed for time, I frosted it with an old Jel-sert frosting recipe: One package Royal vanilla instant pudding whipped with a pint of heavy whipping cream. The next time I make this cake, I plan on frosting it with a butter roux (ermine) frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Smells strawberrylicious! This cake is great for the kiddos but I wouldn't serve this to just anybody. It's very easy to make, it's pretty, and it taste decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
The cake turned out great, I only had one slice though on account that my sister and her husband took the rest of the cake with them. They loved it so much they said I could just bake another for myself! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chulabebe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Made this for my daughters 2nd birthday and it was a hit. I did not puree the strawberries, just smashed em' with a fork. No problems with denseness or any other factors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by musik16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
My cake turned out flat and hard. I thought the cake would turn out a lot better with such a high star rating, but unfortunately it wasn't until after I made the cake that I saw people's reviews. People had issues with the measurement of the flour and one expert separated her egg yolks. A cake recipe must have the right measurements and information (egg separating, etc.) in order to have a successful cake. I spent so much time on making this cake and I'm not comfortable to show it off. Sad affair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Not a pleasant cake, texture was off, too heavy and gelatine-like. Big disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 700) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States