Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
The cake turned out dense for me, but it was yummy. I found that the taste even seemed to get better after a day or two. People were pleasantly with how strong the strawberry flavor was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This was a good base recipe but as other reviewers have stated, it needs a bit of salt (at least 1/2 tsp). I cut back on the sugar just a bit to about 1 1/2 cups (since the jello also has sugar in it). I also subbed 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup 2%milk because I didn't have whole milk on hand. I think you could easily sub yogurt as well. I also baked these as cupcakes and adjusted the baking time accordingly. I'm not usually one to use prepared foods but I did like the color and flavor that the jello added. So, yes, I made quite a few changes due to ingredients on hand and personal preference but all in all this is still a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Fantastic! So moist and flavorful....couldn't stop eating it! I topped it with a homemade white chocolate cream cheese frosting...to die for! :o) Made just the way the recipe states, this recipe is most definitely a keeper in my books!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
awesome! i made this today for my daughter's birthday. it rises like normal cake-mix cakes, unlike lots of other homemade cakes. i like to add chopped strawberries to the cream cheese frosting for a pink color and real strawberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Great flavor, beautiful color. I used this for cupcakes using another reviewers baking temp and time, and they came out PERFECT. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This was a beautiful and tasty cake. I used the entire box of gelatin but didn't use frozen sweetened strawberries- mine were not sweetened. I found the sweetness level was perfect for me and I don't like overly sweet cakes. I added the strawberry puree in with the milk rather than adding it in at the end. Yes the cake layers were dense but it didn't detract from the taste of this cake. I baked mine in 3 9 inch cake pans instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Someone explain to me why my cake came out dense. I read quite a few reviews and did what was suggested ( by the majority). Egg white last, measure cake flour after sifting. What happened? The taste was excellent. The one star is because it came out too dense!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Amazing taste & perfect consistency! A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
easy and awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Excellent recipe! I followed other reviewers advice and used 2 3/4 cups of PRE-sifted flour. I also seperated the egg whites from the yolks and whipped them to soft peaks then folded them in at the end of the batter process. It was perftectly moist and fluffy! I did use three 9" round cake pans instead of 2, and sprayed them with nonstick floured baking spray which worked great. I cheated and used store bought whipped cream cheese icing but made it my own by blending some of the leftover strawberry puree into it. For in between the cake layers I used the frosting and also drizzled more of the strawberry puree on. Wow did it turn out delicious and not overly sweet either. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 710) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States