Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Such an amazing recipe! Due to my son's dairy allergy I altered the recipe a bit using soy milk rather than whole milk, and 3/4 cup of oil rather then butter and it turned out excellent. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This is the best strawberry cake ever and is always a hit with my family and friends. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
It was perfect! Layered fresh strawberry between layers and to top the cake. Everyone loved it! Every crumb was eaten in less then 24 hours (4 adults) :) Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZOINKS
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
VERY GOOD but I used it for a checkerboard cake and the strawberry part was more moist than the yellow cake and didn't rise as much. I didn't use the whole packet of gelatin for this reason....because I didn't want that weird gelatinous consistency but it still was a tad overly moist. Very good strawberry flavor however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Delicious. Comes out moist and dense, which suits the preferences of my family. After looking through numerous reviews, I adopted these changes: Added 1/2 tsp salt; reduced sugar to 1 1/2 cups; used all purpose flour and cornstarch (2 TBSPs corn starch plus enough all purpose flour to make one cup) as I did not have cake flour; used 2 percent milk; used unsweetened fresh strawberries to make puree; used 2 9-inch cake pans; when frosting, put some raspberry preserves between the layers for a little tang! it was fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I absolutely love the flavor of this cake, however, it shrinks quite a bit... too much. I assume because of the jello. If anyone has an answer for me to prevent the shrinkage, please respond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakemorecake
Home Town: Alhambra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
The cake turned out dense for me, but it was yummy. I found that the taste even seemed to get better after a day or two. People were pleasantly with how strong the strawberry flavor was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This was a good base recipe but as other reviewers have stated, it needs a bit of salt (at least 1/2 tsp). I cut back on the sugar just a bit to about 1 1/2 cups (since the jello also has sugar in it). I also subbed 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup 2%milk because I didn't have whole milk on hand. I think you could easily sub yogurt as well. I also baked these as cupcakes and adjusted the baking time accordingly. I'm not usually one to use prepared foods but I did like the color and flavor that the jello added. So, yes, I made quite a few changes due to ingredients on hand and personal preference but all in all this is still a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Fantastic! So moist and flavorful....couldn't stop eating it! I topped it with a homemade white chocolate cream cheese frosting...to die for! :o) Made just the way the recipe states, this recipe is most definitely a keeper in my books!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
awesome! i made this today for my daughter's birthday. it rises like normal cake-mix cakes, unlike lots of other homemade cakes. i like to add chopped strawberries to the cream cheese frosting for a pink color and real strawberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 706) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States