Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
My cakes baked up nicely and were moist with a pound cake like texture. The only problem I had was that it seemed to be lacking in strawberry flavor. This defeated the purpose of baking a strawberry cake. I followed directions exactly as written. Might try again with a strawberry reduction made with fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newfad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I made this for my Granddaughter's 3rd birthday, she wanted it a pink cake, it turned out perfect, very moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Very easy, very tasty recipe. Good flavor, moist and I didn't find any issue with the density. Until recently, I had been lazy using boxed mixes. Taking a cake decorating class gave me the opportunity to experiment with scratch cake recipes. This was a definite keeper. Just as another review said, definitely beats a mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
People tell me this is their favorite cake I've ever made, and I make a lot of cakes for a lot of people. You won't regret this one, I promise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This recipe is definitely a keeper. A couple things though: without icing, this cake is already pretty sweet, many seem to agree (I'll reduce sugar next time, not sure how much). I also added 1/4 tsp salt to add complexity. Made sure everything was room temperature. My cake did not fall in the middle. Make sure the sugar and butter are creamed well! Lastly, Whole Foods sells a strawberry gelatin that has no artificial colors or preservatives, so your entire cake can be natural.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Looks beautiful. Followed given suggestions for sifting flour, separating eggs and made a buttercream frosting with strawberry puree. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Florida, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I searched high and low for a scratch strawberry cake recipe for my daughters birthday. This was perfect as written. I had to use all-purpose flour instead of cake flour because there wasn't any in my store. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinscott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
LOVE this cake and everyone who has eaten it absolutely LOVED it too! I was asked for the recipe many times. I follow the recipe exactly, but instead of cake flour I use AP flour. It comes out more dense than a white cake, but it is also moister, richer and better tasting than any box cake. I use buttercream icing only and mix some pureed strawberries in the icing as well. I have only made it with fresh strawberries so far that I have pureed with a fork (no blender needed) and one TB of sugar. For the icing, I just add about 1/3 cup of strawberry puree and cover each layer. It comes out awesomely tasting. Can't wait to make another one tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This is a very good recipe, I madde it last year at Easter and this year too. I do tweak this recipe a little. I use 3 9 inch pans instead of two. I also make extra strawberry puree to put in between the layers while the cake is hot, poking small wholes so the puree seeps in. I frost with cream cheese frosting and decorate with fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Made this cake for a girl who want to order a weeding cake and she and all her friends loved it!!!! i topped it with Swiss Buttercream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 667) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States