Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I made this recipe tonight with everything except the strawberry purée. Without the purée it tasted very fake to me. I think I am going to use a recipe with no jello in the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I had to throw it out. I may give it another shot based on some reviewers' suggestions, but not anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I love this recipe! I've made this cake several times and always get compliments... My only two cents is to add 1 tsp of salt to the sifted flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelalexander
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Tried this recipe last weekend my strawberry cake came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Pape

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This was sooo delicious!! You can't stop eating it, haha!! It'll definitely be a family favorite, Thank you for posting the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
It's easy to fix this recipe. To make it light and fluffy you simply have to separate the eggs when the recipe calls for the eggs just use the yellows then after everything else is in beat the whites separately until stiff peaks form. then fold the whites into the rest of the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Yes tried strawberry cake from website it was superb !!!!!! same way as shown above
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I used .30 oz of jello and that was sweet enough. I took the advice of reviewer naples34102 and added 1T baking powder and 1t salt as well as her filling recipe for the cake- that tasted amazing. I sifted the flour before measuring and also used three 9" pans, like a lot of users did- I 100% agree, the cake came out more fluffy and after it was iced, the cake was big and beautiful. Instead of frozen strawberries, I used fresh strawberries and put them into a pan with a cup of sugar and a splash of vanilla extract over low heat for a little over an hour for a delicious "puree". Don't put the strawberries it a blender to puree after you are done cooking it, your mixer will take care of it. It was for my mom's birthday and my whole family absolutely loved it and said it tasted like a bakery cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
My guests raved and I might sneak a piece for breakfast this a.m. It was amazing! This is one of the best cakes I've ever made. -didn't bother separating the eggs and it was fine -did measure the flour after sifting -did reduce sugar to 1 1/2 cups and it was perfect -used fresh unsweetened strawberries -cooked it in a 11 x 15 pan I made cream cheese frosting (2 lbs cream cheese with 2 packages cream cheese, which was too much frosting, half that would probably be fine). Used more of the strawberry puree to beat frosting to the consistency I wanted. Another time I made it with cherry jello and stirred in half a can of cherry pie filling. The other half can, I beat into 1 lb of powdered sugar and 1 block of cream cheese. This was still more frosting than I needed for an 11x15 pan but would likely be enough for a two-layer cake if spread thinly. Also delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 717) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States