Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I made this cake for my daughter's first birthday last year and it was a hit with my very large family. It was dense and delicious. I made it into a tiered cake with buttercream frosting and covered in fondant. I am going to use this recipe again to make cake pops for my nieces upcoming wedding shower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kendra Wright
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
So yummy. I made it for mothers day and everyone loved it. I couldn't get the density exactly right but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
The only change I made was to separate the yolk and egg whites. I put the egg whites in at the end. The cake is delicious and I will be adding this to my book if recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
I made this cake for my sister's birthday party and everyone thought it was yummy. It was worth the work to make it and I thought it was very girly and fun. The only thing I didn't do that the recipe said was to strain the seeds out of the puree. It was a lot of work to make sure there wasn't any seeds in the puree so I gave up and put the puree in the batter seeds and all. It was easier and I didn't notice any seeds in the finished cake. Overall a great recipe that's great for girly-girls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
My cake boiled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Warren MacEachern

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Best cake ever! First time I made it and it will not be the last. Love it! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Chester

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferguson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Brilliant recipe. Super tasty, incredibly moist and not difficult or fussy at all! Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
JUST FINISHED MAKING THE STRAWBERRY CAKE FROM SCRATCH, THEN ONLY THING I WOULD SAY THAT I DID NOT SEE IS THE COLOR OF THE CAKE, MAYBE I MISSED SOMETHING BUT I FOLLOWED ALL THE STEPS AS IT APPEARS ON WEBSITE. THE COLOR OF MY BREAD CAME OUT LIGHT BROWN, I WONDER IF I SHOULD HAVE ADDED MORE STRAWBERRIES? OVERALL THE CAKE WAS GREAT AND TASTY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Imelda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
my crew loved it! although when making it again, I will take the advice and only add the flour as "pre-sifted" measure!! YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krissy Hamilton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spanlglermacy@gmail.com
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I made this and it was so fun!!!!! When putting the cakes in the oven I accidentally dropped the pan and some batter got in the oven. This was a set back, but luckily my older cousin was there to the rescue. The cakes turned out a little thinner than I had expected so that was upsetting, but I still think it will taste great. I made this for my turning five year old brother and I added some Lego decorations. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 753) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States