Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This cake was incredible!! Followed the advice of others. I seperated the egg whites and yolks. Whipped the whites into soft peaks and folded them in. Also, I sifted the flour and then after sifting measured it again. I spread some strawberry puree in between the two cake layers along with icing and it was very moist! I do not bake a lot and this cake turned out great. Everyone was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I don't even have to sifted the flour or separate eggs. It come out very light, fluffy and moist. Oh I change from whole milk to butter cream because I don't have whole milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by numy
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
i made this recipe for a cake and cupcakes and it turned out great. i filled the cake and frosted the cupcakes with strawberry mousse . it was not too strong or too sweet. it has a wonderfully light texture and a very nice color. i used fresh strawberry puree (i sprinkled a little sugar on the strawberries, left them for about an hour, pureed and sieved them). all my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by numy

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Hello everyone, I have a ? when people say that they used 3 9inch pans is that using the measurements that are stated on this page or are they doubling the recipe bcuz to fill 3 pans these measurements aren't enough r they pls let me know thank you.i had to put a rating to post this but I haven't tried it yet but I hope its comes out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This cake was a slam dunk for me. My family loved it. It was literally gone in 2 days. I rate this recipe 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Because of the reviews, I was so confident in this recipe that I made it for my daughter's birthday party without first giving it a test. Like another reviewer had previously said, all I could taste was the gelatin. I put more fresh strawberry puree than the suggested amount, but the gelatin flavor was still so overpowering. I decided after reading several reviews to make 3 layers instead of 2 and it was still a little dense. I didn't receive any complaints at the party, but no compliments either. I take pride in my baking and was disappointed that this cake recipe didn't yield the results I'd expected. My 4 year old daughter loves "pink" cake enough that I will give it a second try, but definitely will make some modifications (much less gelatin, or maybe none, and more fresh strawberries)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angelwolf
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
the baking power say to difftern thing it says one thin on the web set and another on the vedio
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This makes about 3 dozen cupcakes. I have baked a lot of cupcakes. A LOT. These taste delicious. They do not rise up well. They are very flat. If you know that going in, then go for it, because the taste is great. Fun twist, I used cherry instead of strawberry for the jello and the fruit and tossed in a fistful of chocolate chips. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I will be making this again... simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This recipe was the best I found for strawberry cake. It is simple, and easily done in less time than the recipe suggests. It made such a beautifully tasty birthday cake. I will be using it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 667) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States