Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Cake tasted much too artificial. I followed recipe except for separating egg yolks and beat whites into peaks and added separately as recommended. Cake did not turn out dense and texture was fine BUT the Jello dominates the flavor, that i may as well have baked a box cake! I also tried a second run with much less Jello flavoring and it was slightly better but I still would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This is the best strawberry cake ever. I've made it twice, and both times they were a hit. First was for my daughter who wanted me to bake her strawberry cupcakes and bring them to her college for her birthday. She even had some stolen from their community fridge. The next event was Thanksgiving Day dinner. They were some of the desserts offered and I had to stash some away so my little ones could get a chance at them before they were all gone. The real hit came from my four-year old who doesn't like cakes (what are the odds). Well he ate the entire stash over time. For those who said that it didn't turn out right, I'd say follow the recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Ok here goes this is AMAZING!! My whole family enjoyed and i have been making this every week for the last 3 weeks. The flavor is amazing and its very moist. Thanks for this great recipe. Angela
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I made this recipe tonight with everything except the strawberry purée. Without the purée it tasted very fake to me. I think I am going to use a recipe with no jello in the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I did not care for this. I may give it another shot based on some reviewers' suggestions, but not anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I love this recipe! I've made this cake several times and always get compliments... My only two cents is to add 1 tsp of salt to the sifted flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelalexander
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Tried this recipe last weekend my strawberry cake came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Pape

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This was sooo delicious!! You can't stop eating it, haha!! It'll definitely be a family favorite, Thank you for posting the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
It's easy to fix this recipe. To make it light and fluffy you simply have to separate the eggs when the recipe calls for the eggs just use the yellows then after everything else is in beat the whites separately until stiff peaks form. then fold the whites into the rest of the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 720) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States