Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I have been baking cakes for 40 years and the scratch strawberry cake really caught my eye. I read all the reviews and with all the reviews of this cake being too dense, I don't get it. This cake was fantastic. I make all the birthday cakes for our entire business and some said this was my best cake of all I had made and believe me I have made a lot of cakes. I put puree between each layer and semi froze the layers then iced them. I did make three layers and this cake was beautiful. I put strawberries on top and served puree with each slice. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kings Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This tasted better than I thought it would when I mixed it and put it into the oven, but it still wasn't anything to get excited about. First, the color was an awful pinkish gray. I really wished I had some food coloring to make it a little more pink or red. After it was baked, I found the strawberry flavor to be so subtle that it was almost not there. I also wished I had used a little more leavening in order to get more rise. The only thing that I like about this instead of simply making a boxed mix was that it has a lot less artificial flavorings and preservatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
The foundation of a really good cake is here but it would have been very dense indeed had I not read the reviews and done some tweeking of my own. I followed the advice of separating the eggs and whipping the whites. I also reduced the flour to 2 1/2 cups, omitted the vanilla, and used 3/4 cup of strawberry puree versus 1/2 a cup. After making these changes I had a light cake with excellent strawberry flavor, but doesn't taste artificial like a lot of strawberry cakes do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Ok, def a great recipe! I agree to add the teaspoon of salt and sift the flour before measuring as others have suggested. I also used the strawberry buttercream icing as suggested by Naples. This cake was amazing! I made it for my bday, only lasted 3 days for 3 people, plus made coworkers jealous with pictures of my pretty pink cake;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I tried this reciepe for the first time this past Friday nite 1.3.14, I was bored ans since I had all the ingredients, I was like, why not! I baked a sheet cake instead, made my own vanilla frosting, it was amazinng! I let a few of my friends try it, they LOVED it!...Im rating 5 stars all the way!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This recipe is awesome! I took heed and measured the flour after sifting. My husband is in love,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shondalicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I dont normally rate recipes but I really did not like this one. I followed everything exact, and it was so dense and artificial tasting. It looked nice n pink sure but it tasted so bad. I was convinced I made a mistake so I tryed it again, extra carefully, and still has the same problem
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I would like to try this recipe. Sounds delish! But my question is: what exactly is cake flour? any specific answers would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I'm not sure what I did wrong with this recipe, but it didn't rise in the center. I've made many cakes, and I made a white cake a couple hours before making this one that has basically the same composition and it turned out fine, this recipe just a few differences in the quantity of ingredients. The other rose and was moist and delicious, and this one is concave in the center. Also, the gelatin gives it a very fake strawberry taste, you may as well use a box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I have made this cake twice now. I followed directions to the letter . First time I split the sugar with 1/2 splenda half sugar . The whole cake was flat, heavy. Just terrible it was barely 1 inch high. I through it out.. Next time I did use all sugar as per recipe but I had to use all purpose flour as I didn't have cake & pastry on hand . This one came out better but it was not light and fluffy it was still heavy and very dry . I cooked it at 350 just till it was done , "the tooth pick came out clean". I don't know why but I just cannot get a scratch cake to come out as soft and light as a cake mix.. This is an expensive cake to make so I don't think I will try it again.. too bad because strawberry cake is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 706) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States