Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This makes about 3 dozen cupcakes. I have baked a lot of cupcakes. A LOT. These taste delicious. They do not rise up well. They are very flat. If you know that going in, then go for it, because the taste is great. Fun twist, I used cherry instead of strawberry for the jello and the fruit and tossed in a fistful of chocolate chips. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I will be making this again... simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This recipe was the best I found for strawberry cake. It is simple, and easily done in less time than the recipe suggests. It made such a beautifully tasty birthday cake. I will be using it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Is there a true "from scratch" recipe or recommendation for this recipe? Using Jello powder isn't really from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xtasia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
My first cake from scratch, and it came out amazing! Followed suggestions to sift then measure flour, separate the egg whites, beat, and 3-9 in cake pans. Made my own strawberry puree, used in cake and in between layers with cream cheese icing. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maryam Asad
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This is one of the most Amazing strawberry cake i have ever made. SIMPLY. NO LEFT OVERS Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Im a very experienced baker - weighing at 26 stone. I cook on a regular basis when i can get out of bed. i found that it was too dry and needed moistening. be right back - getting a sausage roll. Who ever throught of baking a cake with fruit in?!?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
My 6 year son has been asking me to make him a strawberry cake for some time now. I found this recipe and I am so glad I did. Everyone loved it, even my picky 13 year old. I followed the recommendation to separate the egg yolks and egg whites. I first mixed the yolks with the batter and later folded in the softly whipped egg whites. Also I stirred in the flour and the milk, then I used the blender to mix in the strawberry purée. I did not use any strawberry gelatin. My cake is so moist. If I did not know better I would of thought that I used a cake mix and not cake flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
It's good. The few changes I made were as followed; I used all purpose flour because I ran out of cake flour (2 1/4 cup). I also used cherry jello mix since it was all I had left. The cake is really moist. I made the "icing" out of pudding and whipped cream. It's good, oh and last thing, I cut the sugar content to a bit less than 1 cup because I have family members who are diabetic. The jello mix and whipped topping added the rest of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I used this recipe to make Texas size cupcakes for Valentines Day. I used baking Splenda instead of sugar. I also used fresh strawberries pureed in the blender and 1% milk. The cake was moist. The texture was a tiny bit heavy, probably because of the gelatin. Maybe strawberry koolaid would be better? For cupcakes it was not a problem. If using for cupcakes the tops raise to a nice very slightly rounded top which is perfect for icing. I would suggest using clear vanilla because the dark color muddied up the red and I had to use a little red food color to get it back to red-red. An idea would be to make mini-cupcakes and put one of those large specialty chocolate chips in the middle of each one, if you like that flavor combo, then drizzle the tops with melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TnT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elgin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 700) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States