Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Not for me, sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Absolutely perfect just as it is. I couldn't find a strawberry cake recipe anywhere, and I'm really glad I came across this. I LOVED it. I will definitely make this again. Thank you Gothic Girl for bringing this recipe to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I'm afraid I did not have much success with this recipe. I did follow instructions exactly, but the cake came out gummy despite increasing the cook time by an hour. It could well have been an error on my part and/or a difference in the quality of ingredients as I am living in Brazil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
The cake was a bit dense. I followed the recipe but omitted 1/4 cup of flour and beat the egg whites separately. The cake still wasnt light and fluffy. To top it off I used Jello strawberry flavored gelatin and I dont like the chemically artificial taste of it. Tastes like I brought a store mix -.- next time I will look for a all natural from scratch recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tenessa
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This cake was great. I followed others suggestions about using only the egg whites from the eggs and adding them into the mixture at the very end. I also used fresh strawberry that I put into the freezer a couple hours before. When watching the video it said if you use fresh strawberries to add sugar to them a few hours before. I did not add sugar to the fresh strawberries and I would not recommend it. The cake was sweet enough. It only took a little slice to hit the spot. I will definitely make again but I think next time I may try adding a little less sugar. I used some of the leftover puree in between the layers of cake. I baked at 350 for 35 minutes. Just check the cake after 20 minutes. If it's not done check it every 5 minute after till tooth pick comes out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This cake is amazing! I've made it at least 5 times exactly as the recipe says, and it gets inhaled every time. GothicGirl, you are the woman!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
i tried this recipe yesterday, it was really hard. it didn't came out the way it shows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by espinozajuan4538

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
delish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
great you must try for birthday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alexandraxulip
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
By far my favorite cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 734) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States