Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I made this for my husband for our anniversary. I made it cherry instead of strawberry. My husband loved it. I thought it was too dense, however. I did sift the flour and separated the eggs and added the stiff egg whites at the end. I would make this cake again and put in only half of the jello powder. I think that would rectify the problem with the density.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lbaldt
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I made this cake last night... 2 Layers... I used the Recipe for Buttercream Frosting which actually consisted of no Butter at all... It called for Shortening... I got a lot of Positive Reviews on this cake & the frosting... Me personally I thought it was a little too sweet... But I had several people request it as one of their Birthday Cakes... I think it stood up well, wasn't too soft, so it would probably stack well... It was all in all a fun cake to make...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lbaldt

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Just made this cake and it came out awesome. I was somewhat hesitant about using the jello mix fearing it would give the cake an artificial taste but to my surprise the batter tasted great and had a beautiful pink color. I have important suggestions for preparing this cake. For a less dense and more airy light texture, you must sift the flour first (I used all purpose) then measure out the 2 2/3 cups. Most importantly, you must cream the butter and sugar for at least 5 minutes, longer is better this enables more air bubbles to form aiding in a much more light cake. Good luck and enjoy! Thank you for the person who submitted this recipe...love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rudysfavorites

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Not for me, sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Absolutely perfect just as it is. I couldn't find a strawberry cake recipe anywhere, and I'm really glad I came across this. I LOVED it. I will definitely make this again. Thank you Gothic Girl for bringing this recipe to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I'm afraid I did not have much success with this recipe. I did follow instructions exactly, but the cake came out gummy despite increasing the cook time by an hour. It could well have been an error on my part and/or a difference in the quality of ingredients as I am living in Brazil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
The cake was a bit dense. I followed the recipe but omitted 1/4 cup of flour and beat the egg whites separately. The cake still wasnt light and fluffy. To top it off I used Jello strawberry flavored gelatin and I dont like the chemically artificial taste of it. Tastes like I brought a store mix -.- next time I will look for a all natural from scratch recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tenessa
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This cake was great. I followed others suggestions about using only the egg whites from the eggs and adding them into the mixture at the very end. I also used fresh strawberry that I put into the freezer a couple hours before. When watching the video it said if you use fresh strawberries to add sugar to them a few hours before. I did not add sugar to the fresh strawberries and I would not recommend it. The cake was sweet enough. It only took a little slice to hit the spot. I will definitely make again but I think next time I may try adding a little less sugar. I used some of the leftover puree in between the layers of cake. I baked at 350 for 35 minutes. Just check the cake after 20 minutes. If it's not done check it every 5 minute after till tooth pick comes out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This cake is amazing! I've made it at least 5 times exactly as the recipe says, and it gets inhaled every time. GothicGirl, you are the woman!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
i tried this recipe yesterday, it was really hard. it didn't came out the way it shows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by espinozajuan4538

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 727) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States