Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Kendra Wright
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
So yummy. I made it for mothers day and everyone loved it. I couldn't get the density exactly right but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
The only change I made was to separate the yolk and egg whites. I put the egg whites in at the end. The cake is delicious and I will be adding this to my book if recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
I made this cake for my sister's birthday party and everyone thought it was yummy. It was worth the work to make it and I thought it was very girly and fun. The only thing I didn't do that the recipe said was to strain the seeds out of the puree. It was a lot of work to make sure there wasn't any seeds in the puree so I gave up and put the puree in the batter seeds and all. It was easier and I didn't notice any seeds in the finished cake. Overall a great recipe that's great for girly-girls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
My cake boiled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Warren MacEachern

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Best cake ever! First time I made it and it will not be the last. Love it! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Chester

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferguson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Brilliant recipe. Super tasty, incredibly moist and not difficult or fussy at all! Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
JUST FINISHED MAKING THE STRAWBERRY CAKE FROM SCRATCH, THEN ONLY THING I WOULD SAY THAT I DID NOT SEE IS THE COLOR OF THE CAKE, MAYBE I MISSED SOMETHING BUT I FOLLOWED ALL THE STEPS AS IT APPEARS ON WEBSITE. THE COLOR OF MY BREAD CAME OUT LIGHT BROWN, I WONDER IF I SHOULD HAVE ADDED MORE STRAWBERRIES? OVERALL THE CAKE WAS GREAT AND TASTY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Imelda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
my crew loved it! although when making it again, I will take the advice and only add the flour as "pre-sifted" measure!! YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krissy Hamilton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spanlglermacy@gmail.com
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I made this and it was so fun!!!!! When putting the cakes in the oven I accidentally dropped the pan and some batter got in the oven. This was a set back, but luckily my older cousin was there to the rescue. The cakes turned out a little thinner than I had expected so that was upsetting, but I still think it will taste great. I made this for my turning five year old brother and I added some Lego decorations. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
This cake was reeeeeally dense but I didn't have cake flour so that's probably the reason why. I did try to substitute by adding some cornstarch in ....didn't work, cake was still HEAVY. As far as the taste? WONDERFUL! The jello didn't make it too sweet for me but as every good cook & baker knows...you TASTE as you add your ingredients so it isn't overwhelming for the finished product. I made a strawberry cream cheese frosting and added strawberry puree to it and it came out great. Next time I will use cake flour but the cake was still very good! I may break it down to three cake pans instead of two as someone else suggested also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 762) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States