Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I loved this recipe! I used butter cream frosting and it turned out great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This is entirely too sweet, so much so that I couldn't frost it. Adding the jell-o which is sweetened with 2 cups of sugar is just too much. Even before I added the puree, I tasted the batter and sugar rush. If I make this again, I will cut out 3/4 cups of tue white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Moist and delicious! Great strawberry flavor. I made them with this Sturdy Whipped Cream frosting: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/sturdy-whipped-cream-frosting/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Followed the directions exactly, we found the cake was wonderful when chilled. Homemade cream cheese icing was delicious. We're making 7 of these for a Church gathering this weekend, so we're using 9x13 sheet pans...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I will say the flavor of the cake is wonderful, but wow what a mess! Guess cleaning my oven is now on my agenda for the afternoon :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Great recipe! Will definitely make again, but with slightly less sugar - maybe 1 1/2c.? My only real issue was that my layers sank. Luckily, it was for my daughter's birthday, and only immediate family ate it (and loved it!), but still... It took quite a bit of frosting to fill the sinkholes. I love dense cake, so I didn't do any separating of the eggs. I used fresh strawberries, and I used my own buttercream recipe with puréed strawberries added. The gelatin adds good extra strawberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4callmemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Loved it! Very delicious i even made cupcakes out of it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I don't think of myself as a very good baker... certainly not a veteran baker, but, this cake was surprisingly simple and turned out awesome. I made it for my grandmother's birthday and it was a big hit. I used the Cream Cheese Frosting II from allrecipes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenleekim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cornelia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
My family and I loved this cake. I made it exactly as the recipe is and it turned out fantastic. Next time though I will use 3 cake pans. Recipe called for 2 pans although the picture is 3. It was too much batter for just 2 pans. Luckily I forgot to put the baking powder in :) so it did not rise over my 2 cake pans. Almost did but not quite. Imagine if I had used the baking powder with just 2 pans...my oven would have been a mess. As it was though the cake turned out great. Thanks. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I made a little extra strawberry puree, and added it to my homemade vanilla frosting...and that made it AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1Princess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 744) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States