Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
awesome! i made this today for my daughter's birthday. it rises like normal cake-mix cakes, unlike lots of other homemade cakes. i like to add chopped strawberries to the cream cheese frosting for a pink color and real strawberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Great flavor, beautiful color. I used this for cupcakes using another reviewers baking temp and time, and they came out PERFECT. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This was a beautiful and tasty cake. I used the entire box of gelatin but didn't use frozen sweetened strawberries- mine were not sweetened. I found the sweetness level was perfect for me and I don't like overly sweet cakes. I added the strawberry puree in with the milk rather than adding it in at the end. Yes the cake layers were dense but it didn't detract from the taste of this cake. I baked mine in 3 9 inch cake pans instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Someone explain to me why my cake came out dense. I read quite a few reviews and did what was suggested ( by the majority). Egg white last, measure cake flour after sifting. What happened? The taste was excellent. The one star is because it came out too dense!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Amazing taste & perfect consistency! A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
easy and awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Excellent recipe! I followed other reviewers advice and used 2 3/4 cups of PRE-sifted flour. I also seperated the egg whites from the yolks and whipped them to soft peaks then folded them in at the end of the batter process. It was perftectly moist and fluffy! I did use three 9" round cake pans instead of 2, and sprayed them with nonstick floured baking spray which worked great. I cheated and used store bought whipped cream cheese icing but made it my own by blending some of the leftover strawberry puree into it. For in between the cake layers I used the frosting and also drizzled more of the strawberry puree on. Wow did it turn out delicious and not overly sweet either. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
What a delicious cake! Mine turned out too dense because I didn't realize you HAD to make it in multiple layers, and I just wanted a single sheet cake. I did sift the cake flour before measuring, and I followed the other instructions exactly, so the type and number of cake pans seem to really make or break this in terms of texture. However, the taste was simply heavenly! Nobody cared that it was dense - the flavor was unbeatable! I'll be saving this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Made this as a birthday cake from my sister. Everyone thought I was bringing the normal yellow cake with a layer of gross slimy strawberries in the middle. What a hit! My uncle who doesn't like cake ate a whole piece... the waitress we gave a slice to came out of the kitchen because she "just had to kiss me" because it was so good! Very moist and fluffy! Great recipe! (I added almond extract to my buttercream frosting and that was a nice touch!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
YUM! Seems no one has tried cupcakes, so I did! Not a "big-rising" batter, so... using a rounded quarter cup of batter per cupcake yields 32 LEVEL cupcakes. If you want a rounded cupcake, fill baking cups to about 1/4" from top. (Will probably yield about 26-28). Bake 350 for 18-21 minutes, until toothpick comes out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 707) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States