Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I made this cake TWICE in 2 days. I made it for my son who specifically requested a strawberry cake for his birthday. I've never been that great at cake making, they always seem to come out too dense and dry. I guess I don't pick the right recipes. So with this one, I read all the reviews first and decided not to make it per the instructions and go with the reviews. I separated the eggs and beat the whites, I reduced the sugar and the flour and only used 3 eggs. The cake tasted really good, but it was the texture of dense bread! It was gross! Cake to me is supposed to be fluffy as air. Not a muffin or bread. I could tell by the batter that it was going to be dense, it was too gooey and thick..even after the egg white were stirred in. The cake ended up in the garbage. So today I made it again EXACTLY as the recipe states. I made sure the butter, milk and eggs were all room temperature. As with all baking, this is an extremely important step. I beat the butter and sugar till it was really fluffy. The addition of the eggs made it even more fluffy. Make sure strawberries are defrosted before blending. Strain seeds. I poured the batter into 2 9" rounds. It fit just fine. The cakes rose above the sides of the pan and when cooled, it shrunk just to the top of the pan, nice fat cakes! I had to cook them 5 mins longer than stated. I iced with buttercream frosting. The first slice to come out was PERFECT and I jumped for joy. MAKE THE CAKE AS INSTRUCTIONS STATE! You won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This is a delicious moist cake that doesn't last for a weekend! I followed the recipe and there's nothing dense about it. In fact it was the complete opposite. I brought one to work and my coworkers loved it and even offered to pay me to make cakes for them. The biggest test was my mom. She can find something wrong with anything and she Loved this cake. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Fabulous! I had all of the ingredients except for the strawberry puree, so I added a little extra jello mix and voila, perfection! I made them into cupcakes for my son and whipped up some vanilla frosting to top them off. I can't wait to try it with the puree next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEDGE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
What a wonderful recipe. This cake turned out amazing, I used 2 9 inch pans, next time I will use 3 8 inch instead, as the tops kind of fell. I made home made cake flour as I didn't have a box of it. This is a keeper, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina1463

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This cake had a great flavor, but yes, was extremely dense even after measuring the sifted flour and beating the egg whites separately, but I brought this to a baby shower today and got rave reviews about the flavor. I will probably make this cake again. Also, it's a WONDERFUL cake if you need to sculpt it! Dense cakes are great for that! It was not dry at all either like some people were saying. Don't over bake. Dense, but VERY moist! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
it came out so bad..planned on taking it for a party but had to go without it...i would like to tell anybody who's thinkin bout making this cake...pls don't...it's a waste of time and money...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefizac

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Even though I tried everything in other reviews to help keep this cake from being too dense (sifting flour before measuring; separating egg whites, whipping, and adding at end; and using 3 layers), the cake still came out so solid and dense- almost hard! The flavor was good, but I would not try this again. I made it for my daughter's birthday party and I was embarrassed - everyone ate their piece, but I didn't feel good about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I followed every trick and hint by other reviewers including sifting before measuring and folding in egg whites at the end. Although the flavor is good, the cake was heavy and dense. Another employee and myself brought a strawberry cake to an office get-together. They cleaned up her cake while I took cake home. The other cake was lighter and more flavorful. This recipe lacks enough strawberry puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
SUCH AN AWSOME CAKE!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tawnya Claybrook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
i think the first day it was soft and moist,the next day when i wanted ti decorate it,it had toughened,though the taste was nice but it was a bit tough to cut through,what adjustments can one make with the cake?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 721) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States